What is the worse configuration/specs required to run Unreal Engine Developper system ?

I’m in the process buying an ultra-portable computer ; I7-7200U (3MoCache /3.10GHZ ) SSD 256 Go, 8Go DDR4 monocanal 2400MHz with an Intel HD620, i like it because i can work and develop things i like basically anywhere :slight_smile:

Hey, i know this might not be the best place to ask but Google helped me found a similar topic from 2014 so i thought i would give it a chance . )

Would that be ok ? I’m not trying to run some NASA program on it, i’d just like to make some cool independant stuff with low texture rendering.

Really i don’t need to hear about how ****** my specs are, please don’t be awful lol, i’ve been developing and modding since 1999 and i always enjoyed it, i’d just like to know if i can run the program at all or not, with these specs.

Thanx for your answers and sorrry for my bad english, i never actually bought a computer in the past 10 years, so i’d really could use your input…

Have a great day, Matt

I’d certainly not recommend it, it might run, maybe some very small projects will work…
There are scalability settings in UE4 that makes things less intensive too.

But that dual core cpu will struggle (building lightmass will take years), the SSD is far too small (UE4 can cache hundreds of GBs of data), 8GB of RAM is usable (I used 8GB for years) but not great, and the iGPU will hold you back.

Are you particularly set on that laptop?
There are small laptops around that will give you a much nicer experience, but I guess budget might be the problem?

Keep in mind I’ve never used UE4 on any kind of laptop and I’ve never had a computer with an iGPU, it’s possible it’ll run even worse than I’ve said.

GT 440 on a map without textures runs nice on minimals

Hey, thanx very much for your time i learned a lot, that helps.