Can i get some feedback on this?

i’m quite new to visual scripting so try to be descriptive please.

the idea is that: if the player is near a rock, he would get 1 coin per click, but if he was near a gold rock, he would get 2 per click.

it works and everything BUT

i’m thinking later when i’m going to have 20+ types of rocks that i’l be going through 20 loops each click. is that going to affect performance? the player is expected to click 80 times a second (mouse macro).

if you can please have a look at it and tell me how to improve it.

thanks in advance.

Are you new to visual scripting or programming in general?
You could use an enum with rock types. Then instead of doing if statements, you just do a switch on enum.
You could *also * use a data table to just pull that rock types data. So you’d see how much that type of rock is worth which saves on the amount of variables you seem to have and also allow for a central place to modify the values.

https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Videos/PLZlv_N0_O1ga2b_ZaJoaR5dLHOFw4-MMl/5nLqEW6YXPY/

Maybe you should make a macro or function of the right area. Think it would be easier. And yes, you should create an enum to do a switch on near rock/gold.

Why are you setting float gold to gold and float rock to rock. Rock is already set to rock, and gold is already set to gold?

I made a couple of screens for you on how to switch on enum. Create an enum, add it as a variable in your blueprint. Drag the enum variable into the blueprint, then drag out from the pin and type switch.

Instead of having a switch or if at all, make a base class ‘rock’ that has children silver/gold/copper. Have a float variable called ‘Gold’ on the Rock Actor, and simply change the value whenever you create a new child blueprint of a Rock.