Is there a documentation/tutorial for the 4.16 Built-in-cloth system?

Well, the title nails it :smiley:
I am not experienced with Apex Cloth… I don’t even know if there is a need of knowledge about Apex to use the new system.
I want to learn that stuff and the best way to start there with would be a tutorial :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks!

is a pretty descent tutorial. The workflow should be basically the same, the built-in system just bypasses the need for a DCC application.

Maya Apex

If you are referring to the new in-editor clothing tools, they are not released yet, but are available as an experimental preview in 4.16. Go to Editor Preferences, then under Experimental enable Clothing Tools. Because of the ‘experimental’ status, there are not docs for them yet.

It’s pretty straightforward. is the basic set up (you have to do a lot of fine tuning afterwards)

1. Go to edit > editor settings > Clothing tools (Enable it)
  2. Open your skeletal mesh, click on “Section Selection” on the menu.
    Cloth.png
  3. Select the section. Then right click > Create clothing asset from selection. If you want, select the corresponding physics asset. is useful when you need the cloth, for example, to collide against a character (In that case you would select the physics asset of the character). Then right click > apply the clothing you just created.
  4. Open the ClothPaint window and enable painting. Make sure to select the specific cloth you want to paint.
    Cloth.png
  5. Using the brush (I haven’t figured out how to use the gradient yet), set the weight for each part of the cloth. I recommend you leave the top at zero (to ensure it doesn’t fall due to gravity… that part would be attached to your character) and increase the values when you get to the bottom, like a gradient.
  6. Disable the paint cloth mode and you’re done.

You’ll have to do a lot of fine tuning, though, but it’s really convenient.

Hope helps.