The process of converting Blueprint assets to C++

I have a project I’ve been working on for a few weeks. So far it’s just a framework for executing some custom game functionality (wow, that’s vague) consisting of about 6 to 7 Actor blueprints, a pawn, controller, game mode and a few UMG widgets.

The further I get in this, the more I think “I should be doing this in C++ instead”. I’m a programmer with experience in C++ so there’s no real reason why I shouldn’t be using C++ except that I haven’t done it in UE4 and don’t really know how it all fits together. These questions are not really about how to program C++ for UE4, I can see there’s a lot of resources already available for handling that. They are more general questions about C++ coding and the conversion process from Blueprint.

Firstly, I don’t know the difference between a “Blueprint” project and a “C++” project. It seems you can add code to Blueprint projects so what’s the advantage to starting a C++ project? Is it that the editor source code is also available in case you want to change that? Modifying the editor seems like something people wouldn’t need to do much at all. I guess the core engine is available to be edited too. I’m not sure if I should look into starting a completely new C++ project or just adding code to replace my blueprint assets in the Blueprint project.

Secondly, is it easy to use Blueprint nodes as a reference when creating code assets? I’ve done a lot of work in blueprint already and some parts were very finicky to get just right. Looking through the C++ code documentation, it looks like there’s a function available for every blueprint node so I shouldn’t run into issues where something is available in blueprint but not C++. I’ve actually heard people mention they like to prototype things in blueprint prior to coding it in C++.