Abandoned my game (The last zombie)

Ok guys so i have been creating my game for a few months and i hit a mental roadblock and decided to not only abandon my game but also delete all the content i had created .
Whilst this was a hard decision i think its for the best as my game was far too advanced for my skill level. And also the fact that i had relied on mixamo for my character asset was really getting me down and causing a lot of conflicts in the art style i wanted for the game … Also i had a lot of iterations of the same game just taking up hard drive space and making this decision meant i could free up a large amount of space on my hdd and also a lot of confusion and general untidiness … I have decided that a much more simple game with assets only made by me will give me a much clearer vision . And maybe after all this time i can finally start a game that i can finish .Even if said game is terrible …

Most of you wont know or care about my game but i made this post to get your feedback on my decision have you ever done something similar ? was it a stupid idea?
thanks guys

There’s sometimes when I have a project idea for a while and then I either stop the project or come up with a new idea and then realize the original idea was not going to work and wonder how I ever could have thought it would.

Sometimes you just know it’s not going to fly, so it’s a sensible choice - just wipe and start over. Happens to big budget projects too occasionally, so it’s nothing to feel particularly bad about. Trying to push on when just about everything is wrong is probably just a waste of time.

Yes there was certainly an element of this for me also .But more in terms of my ability rather than the idea itself .I also seem to have far too many ideas and always end up being too ambitious in my projects. Hopefully i can get past this habit .