What 3D modeling software to use?

This is mainly a question to the indie developer around here. What 3D modeling software do you use to create your static meshes? Did you actually buy one of the professional editors for thousands of dollars? Are you using cracks? Or do you use something free, like Blender? I tried Blender and I find it highly unintuitive. At my university I was able to use Maya for a while, which I found much easier to use, but of course I can’t use that for commercial things.

Hi there!

I use Blender but I’m still learning it. The interface is really different from all the other 3D packages, but once you learn it it’s quite powerfull.

As I am a student I also use the educational version of Softimage XSI ( but Autodesk decided to kill it TT ).

I would also recommend you to use blender:

-easy to use (of course not when you started with 3d or maya ^^)
-free
-you can nearly do everything in blender that you can also do with the autodesk products

You can get Maya LT for $500 IIRC. It’s a slightly slimmed down version designed for indie devs. There’s a lot of people here who use Blender, it has the capability to do everything you need. 3DS has the most usable UI IMO, Maya’s is more complex but that’s mostly a result of it packing more features for stuff like serious rigging and animating.

I’m using blender for 8 years, it’s my current package for all my workflow (modelling, Texturing, Rigging, Animation, Render, Composition… )

Blender is a freeware software-modeling and animation application that is great to learn for starters.

If you’re a student at a college, AutoDesk offers free, full licenses to a lot of their software - including 3DSMax and Maya - these are 3 year renewable licenses.

I use, and recommend, Blender. If you make something with the student license of Autodesk and want to sell it, the $4K is not good.

As far as I can tell, the only things it doesn’t have that other products do are:

1. Epic’s Rigging Tool for Maya