Character creation menus

I’m new to the game development side of things. I am an IT professional of 12 years and I’ve always wanted to get into game design so I finally got the system together to do it after I found Unreal Engine was available to all. I have been watching tutorial videos and looking through forums on things. I was just curious if anyone here has done an open world game(or started one) with a character creation menu? By this I mean, at the beginning of the game you come to the main menu, Press “A” to start, loads up a character selection screen with a few slots(3 or 4) to create a custom character for each slot if wanted. In these slots you’d be able to select a class, a race, then update eye color, hair, face, body, etc. Obviously it can be done but I was curious if there were any tutorials on how to get started with these?

1 Like

Hey!

I actually already made several of these. Customizers are rather easy to make, but which method to use is the real question and the limitations of different systems. If you want to make simple color changes, it is just done by using a parameter in a material or a material collection with a vector parameter. Hook it up to a widget with sliders for each color, make a blueprint to communicate between widget and customizer and you have a very basic color changing system.

However, if you want to go more advanced and have for example morphs to alter the face or the body proportions/features, you would need a model with morphs and you can also use sliders to change the morphs. The downside with morphs however is that your cloth will clip through. To avoid it you would have to create morphs for the clothes too. Basicly, it is pretty performance intensive and I would, if you want to have morphs (facial mocap and such), just use it on the face.