Moving to Unreal from Unity (Programming)

Hello Everyone,

I’m a level designer and animator, and I love me some Unreal. The CSG system is exceptional for prototyping, the art pipeline is smooth as butter and the lighting and cinematic tools are fantastic. However, a game is not solely built on visuals; enter, my lead programmer. Very talented coder, very efficient, and a great team member, but he has one crippling flaw: he hates Unreal, and loves Unity. He knows both languages by the way, so the C#/C++ argument isn’t the issue here.

At the moment, we’re working on a fairly large single player action game, and the workflow for everything we need to do, except programming, is cripplingly slow for a title of this scope. Next time we start a project, I refuse to put my art team through this process again, but it’ll take some convincing to get him to switch. I need help from any programmers out there that have gone from Unity to Unreal, are there some plugins or tools, maybe features, that drew you in? What would help the switch between the engines?

I have the programming talent of a damp lump of moss, so I don’t know what to look into.

Any help is welcome, cheers!

Hello TomcaT, interesting read indeed.

Can I ask the following.

Why did you choose to switch to unreal and why does your programmer hate unreal?

The biggest pro to UE4 for programmers is the full source access. The Astroneer developers mentioned in one of their streams they switched from Unity to UE4 because it ended up being a better pipeline, more tools they needed out of the box, full source code access, and blueprints to help offload some of the programming work.

He could take his skills at game programming to the next level by examining and modifying the source. Maybe even contribute to the engine. On the other end he could hand over some high end scripting tasks to the game designers by exposing stuff to blueprint.