UE 4.14.3 vs UE 4.15.0

4.15 has this feature Cooking Blueprints to C++ native code is no longer an experimental feature.

It sounds wonderfull, and is probable much more that just that.

So since I am new to UE - as in this week and not the last two months - in general (not coding nor c++) could I take this into my advantage to learn the engine better due to more examples and tutorials are available in blueprint then in c++ (or I do miss some search query keywords)?

Tuts are probably not just for 4.15.0 (yet) but fiddling the nodes of 4.14.3 or earlier has learning advantages too. And I need to learn UE first before I can actually choose/step forward/back in versions.

Therefore I’d like to ask the experienced and beyond, would it be the better choise to move on to 4.15.0 now or keep on struggling with 4.14.3?

Regards,

edit: topy’s

I’m no expert in the C++ realm yet by any means, but from personal experience introducing others into UE4 I think learning Blueprint first is a great way to get started whether you’re new to coding, or have been coding for a year or two. The main reason for this is that the Blueprint context menu makes finding functions and variables very easy as you only need to type a keyword to filter.

As for which version to use? If you’re in the learning process it doesn’t really matter much. I usually wait a week to see if there will be a 4.15.x patch though.

You might as well upgrade since newer versions usually just add extra functionality+fixes. You shouldn’t find yourself at any disadvantage by upgrading.

You most likely won’t notice any of the changes in 4.15, it should feel exactly the same as 4.14.3 for you, with the added benefit of performance improvements, etc.

Also, cooking blueprints into C++ does not mean you will need to know C++. I believe it’s just an optional thing available to make blueprints run faster in the background. Not something you’ll need to worry about when creating your game.