Is C++ Really This SLOW in Unreal 4?

Alright, I’ve been using Blueprints for my projects on Unreal 4 for several years, but now I’ve recently decided to get into really learning some actual code with C++.
I’ve been doing some Youtube tutorials from Reuben Ward, simple things like setting up an inventory that prints a list of objects you can “pick up” and have their names reprinted through a debug message from an array of strings. Very simple, very small things.

BUT…

When I compile ANYTHING using Visual Studio I get to wait around 5 minutes (I can only imagine what it will be like on a larger project) just to see if I fixed a single error. But wait! that’s not all… the intellisense is utterly non-existent (or so slow its actually faster to go onto Bing and just look up the code I’m looking for).

Now, I’ve heard about something called Visual Assist, some people say its supposed to help with improving compile times and (supposedly) with intellisense, but I thought I’d ask around to see how many other people are having these same issues (if anyone is), and if they’ve found any better solutions.

Also, here’s my specs:

Windows Edition

Windows 10 Home

System

Processor: Intel(R) Core™ i5-6400 CPU@ 2.70GHz 2.71GHz

Installed Memory (RAM): 12.0 GB

System Type: 64-bit Operating System, x64-based processor

It’s not that C++ or Visual Studio is slow, but the Unreal Engine source code is just really big.

A few tips to speed up the compile process:

• use a SSD for Visual Studio and all of the source files
  • Get a better processor!
  • Visual Assist does not help with the compile time, but it is nonetheless useful for Intellisense and other things
  • Only build your project, not all the projects in your VS view
  • shut off your antivirus

There is a reason why most people prefer to use blueprints when the performance is not critical - they allow faster iteration times.

2 Likes