User Tag List

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
Results 161 to 200 of 221

Thread: Mesh Tool - A Mesh Editor

  1. #161
    0
    Awesome Psyched for quad mode.

    Marketplace items:
    Impromptu Procedural Ladders makes ladders super easy.
    Impromptu Procedural Handrails makes handrails super easy.
    Impromptu Fire Propagation is basically the fire from Far Cry 2.
    InFlux Example Game is a sample game featuring two levels from the UE3 game InFlux and some potentially helpful blueprints.

    Pledge to my Patreon maybe
    Blog | Impromptu Games | twitter |

  2. #162
    1
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    Quote Originally Posted by unit23 View Post
    Are there plans to add skeletal mesh support?
    Hi unit23, there' s currently no plan to add skeletal mesh support. For Mesh Tool 1.x releases, I would like to focus on Staitc Mesh editing and the workflow/UX improving. That been said, I might do some experiments see if it's feasible to do basic skeletal mesh editing after 1.x release.

  3. #163
    1
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    Quote Originally Posted by OptimisticMonkey View Post
    @Nate Made a short demo of using the MeshTool for Dungeon Prototyping.

    MeshTool is awesome :-)


    @OptimisticMonkey, Thanks for the demo! I can't tell you how exciting I'm seeing Mesh Tool in action.

    Noticed that you're using "Alt + Shift" to extrude the wall, in that case, you might want to use "Shift" key only, since "Alt + Shift" extrude will keep original face which you don't need here.

    BTW, you can use "F" key to focus on selected vertex/edge/faces, and "Shift + F" to focus on whole mesh all the time to quickly navigate to editing part.

    It might sounds greedy, but please, make more videos in the future

  4. #164
    3
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    @motorsep, I've been playing around TrenchBroom last night, the way TrenchBroom editing brush kind of reminds me of the "Slab" system used by Obduction (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWRmO3gXnKo&feature=youtu.be&t=481). I'm convinced that adding something similiar will help improving the level block out workflow greatly. Thanks a lot for the suggestion.
    @Shirk, I haven't used Source 2 (from DOTA2 workshop?), but keep hearing good things, would like to download and test it this weekend, I'm sure I can learn a lot from it.

    After next 1.0.6 release, I would like to take a slight shift of the development foucs of Mesh Tool from modeling tool to improving level building workflow.

  5. #165
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Nate View Post
    @motorsep, I've been playing around TrenchBroom last night, the way TrenchBroom editing brush kind of reminds me of the "Slab" system used by Obduction (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWRmO3gXnKo&feature=youtu.be&t=481). I'm convinced that adding something similiar will help improving the level block out workflow greatly. Thanks a lot for the suggestion.

    After next 1.0.6 release, I would like to take a slight shift of the development foucs of Mesh Tool from modeling tool to improving level building workflow.
    That was the idea behind this suggestion I still see use for blocky, Quake-style level design. Thanks for looking into that!

  6. #166
    0
    Awesome

    One of the issues with a TB-style interface for mesh editing is you tend to end up with a lot of interior faces; Quake-lineage games have compile tools which cull these out but you'd probably need a real-time method.

    Marketplace items:
    Impromptu Procedural Ladders makes ladders super easy.
    Impromptu Procedural Handrails makes handrails super easy.
    Impromptu Fire Propagation is basically the fire from Far Cry 2.
    InFlux Example Game is a sample game featuring two levels from the UE3 game InFlux and some potentially helpful blueprints.

    Pledge to my Patreon maybe
    Blog | Impromptu Games | twitter |

  7. #167
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Nate View Post
    Hi unit23, there' s currently no plan to add skeletal mesh support. For Mesh Tool 1.x releases, I would like to focus on Staitc Mesh editing and the workflow/UX improving. That been said, I might do some experiments see if it's feasible to do basic skeletal mesh editing after 1.x release.
    Cool, I would be happy to have such a feature where i am able to delete different parts of a s mesh. Most edits I do with 3rd party software (Bolender and Max) evolve around editing out weapons for instance, which are tied to a s mesh. Static edits are less common, but I will stick around here, since your solution offers what seems a nice way to introduce more varieties on the fly.

  8. #168
    0
    Thanks @Nate - Shift-Drag to extrude is faster :-)

    2 more questions:

    1) I am confused about smoothing groups - sometimes when I assign on the mesh seems to become faceted, but other times not. Also - why are there so many different smoothing groups? Finally, is it possible to remove smoothing group after assigning it?

    2) In the "manual inset" video, there seems to be some kind of "edge bevel" and "edge fill hole" options... but I dont seem to have these in 1.0.5? What key are you using to fill in?

    Thanks again!

  9. #169
    0
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    Quote Originally Posted by OptimisticMonkey View Post
    1) I am confused about smoothing groups - sometimes when I assign on the mesh seems to become faceted, but other times not. Also - why are there so many different smoothing groups? Finally, is it possible to remove smoothing group after assigning it?
    Each Static Mesh face has a SmoothingMask flag (Smoothing Group), which can has value from 0 - 31.

    The way normals get computed is that, if two faces having same SmoothingMask value (excpet 0) will have smooth shading (normal blended); if they having different SmoothigMask value, they will have facet shading (unique normal).

    The SmoothingMask is stored as an uint32 flag which can store total 32 flags, that's why there can be 32 smoothing groups.

    Since SmoothingMask info is stored inside StaticMesh for each face, there's no way to remove a smoothing group, but you can always assign it to 0 as default value.

    SmoothingMask value 0 has special meaning in normal computation, faces with 0 SmoothingMask will always be considered as in different smoothing group, so always have facet shading.

    To display smoothing group of faces, select faces first, check "Display Selected Face Info" on in Display category:

    Name:  27982917-e7d11796-63e2-11e7-9651-46686b6ba46c.png
Views: 199
Size:  2.1 KB

    Then you can see Face Index [F], Smoothing Group [S] and Material Index [M] of selected faces.

    Name:  27982923-20649e84-63e3-11e7-856b-0374890f60f4.png
Views: 201
Size:  247.9 KB

    Assigning smoothing group to faces while been flexible but can be tedious, so in next update, I plan to add Auto Smooth option to compute normal base on Hard Edge Angle.

    2) In the "manual inset" video, there seems to be some kind of "edge bevel" and "edge fill hole" options... but I dont seem to have these in 1.0.5? What key are you using to fill in?
    Those are WIP features which are disabled in distributed build. You can enable them by update "MeshTool.h" to change
    Code:
    #define MESHTOOL_WIP 0
    to
    Code:
    #define MESHTOOL_WIP 1
    But it's not recommended to use any WIP features in production as those features might not even working or simply experiements I used to test out ideas.

  10. #170
    0
    Awesome!!! Any news on marketplace release date?

  11. #171
    0
    Is it possible to do an edge split like this?

    Name:  ZKbLKdK.png
Views: 152
Size:  752.1 KB

    Insert edge loop does 90% of what I want, but it doesn't split the other faces (where the red lines are) so it becomes detatched. If I split the edge it doesn't work properly either.

    Also when I extrude edges, not all faces have the correct normal



    And one last thing, Is it possible to snap vertices to UE4's gridpoints?
    Last edited by Stiffy360; 07-13-2017 at 10:54 AM.

  12. #172
    1
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    Quote Originally Posted by artistic.coding View Post
    Awesome!!! Any news on marketplace release date?
    Mesh Tool was submitted to marketplace on Mar 2, and passed all review on Jun 15, but haven't got a release date from marketplace team yet.

    @Stiffy360,

    You are right, Insert Edge Loop currently only split edges in-between, so the edge on other face won't get splitted. It's designed that way to simplify the topology:



    I'll will option to split edges on other faces too in later version. For now you should able to split the edge manually then weld it to "stitch" them together:



    Please note if you found that "Turn" edge won't work, that could be there're invalid faces in mesh, you can use "Delete Invalid" in Face category to delete invalid faces first.
    Name:  Delete_Invalid.jpg
Views: 140
Size:  8.8 KB

    To snap vertex to UE4 grid, you can select the vertex first, then click "Grid" in Vertex category to align selected vertex to current grid size.
    Name:  AlignGrid.jpg
Views: 140
Size:  22.4 KB

    When Extruding edge the faces normal is generated base on current view (always facing towards you). While the view base method works most of the time, but not so great if extruding border edges (e.g. 4 edges form a box). I'll see if I can add more intelligent way to deal with border edges extrusion.

  13. #173
    0
    Ah cool those all work.

    One other thing would be, could you add an option so that when you drag select you select any (face/vert/edge) that touches the selection box? As it works currently it's only stuff that fits inside the entire bounding box.

  14. #174
    0
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    Quote Originally Posted by Stiffy360 View Post
    One other thing would be, could you add an option so that when you drag select you select any (face/vert/edge) that touches the selection box? As it works currently it's only stuff that fits inside the entire bounding box.
    That's a nice feature to have (I once added similar feature in Instance Tool to select touching instances, but it seems no many people aware of that feature). I will try add that in 1.0.7.

  15. #175
    0
    Can I purchase this some other way aside from Marketplace since it seems to not be there yet?

  16. #176
    0
    Nevermind, found the itch.io one. =D

  17. #177
    0
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    Hi Wolfen, you found it while I'm typing reply (And uploading 1.0.6 build)

  18. #178
    0
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    Mesh Tool 1.0.6 now live on itchi.io

    1.0.6 Change Log:
    1.0.6.1

    * Enable Quad Toolbar icon

    1.0.6
    ------------------
    * Add experimental Quad support
    * Add Match Face Texture Map
    * Add Match Quad Texture Map
    * Add Flow Texture Map
    * Add Plane Cut
    * Add Auto Smooth
    * Organize UI in groups
    * Now can use rotation widget to rotate Draw Plane
    Last edited by Nate; 07-17-2017 at 07:11 AM.

  19. #179
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Nate View Post
    Mesh Tool 1.0.6 now live on itchi.io

    1.0.6 Change Log:
    I put this version in my projects engine/plugins folder and recieve an UE4Editor-MeshTool.dll wrong version error asking if I want to rebuild. How can I reoslve this? Using 4.16.2-893055

  20. #180
    0
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    @Wolfen, have you downloaded "MeshTool_1.0.6_for_4.16.2.zip"?
    The zip files you downloaded should contain prebuilt binaries for launcher version (4.14.3, 4.15.3, 4.16.2), if you are using you own source build engine, then the plugin have to be rebuilt with your engine or project.
    The 4.16.2 launcher version number should be "4.16.2-3514769"

    The easiest way to use Mesh Tool in you own source build engine is to extract the zip to the engine source's plugin folder (e.g. E:\unreal\416x\Engine\Plugins"), and rebuild the engine to make it available to all projects using the source build engine.

  21. #181
    0
    Ahh. That's probably the problem. Will need to rebuild with our own source. Will let programmer know and give it a try.

    Thanks. Will report back when I hear results.
    =)

  22. #182
    0
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfen View Post
    Ahh. That's probably the problem. Will need to rebuild with our own source. Will let programmer know and give it a try.

    Thanks. Will report back when I hear results.
    =)
    Cool! Let me know if you or your programmer might run into any issue building with your source engine version.

    And I just found out that I forgot to enable Quad icon in 1.0.6 build, so you might want to download 1.0.6.1 version I just uploaded.

  23. #183
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Nate View Post
    Cool! Let me know if you or your programmer might run into any issue building with your source engine version.

    And I just found out that I forgot to enable Quad icon in 1.0.6 build, so you might want to download 1.0.6.1 version I just uploaded.
    Yup. I will do that tomorrow. I am in China myself, so the day has been done for work for a couple hours now hehe.

  24. #184
    0
    Nate,

    So I got it working fine in a normal project. Seems great. I have one question. So far the rest is great and I will likely come back with more feedback in the future. Check out ProBuilder for Unity. They have a lot of pretty awesome features too.

    A couple requests, questions.
    ~Will you add a feature (or did I not find it?) that will let you set the pivot point permanently?
    ~Also, how about a custom UV mapping window?
    ~Rather than using a premade mesh, is it possible to create a feature to make some basic shapes and save that object as a mesh? So I could click "Box" and it makes one, then I edit from there how I want. A plane, sphere, ico, etc?

    Great work though so far. Totally worth the asking price (a steal if you ask me. PB charges I think close to 100 bucks for something very similar for Unity, though it's a bit more advanced and clean looking).

  25. #185
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfen View Post
    ~Will you add a feature (or did I not find it?) that will let you set the pivot point permanently?
    ~Also, how about a custom UV mapping window?
    ~Rather than using a premade mesh, is it possible to create a feature to make some basic shapes and save that object as a mesh? So I could click "Box" and it makes one, then I edit from there how I want. A plane, sphere, ico, etc?
    Nate has a really useful Pivot Tool on Marketplace that does this https://www.unrealengine.com/marketplace/pivot-tool
    UV Mapping Window is Nate question - I am always using the auto UV.
    Use Insert Mesh to replace the current mesh with a cube,cylinder, sphere,etc...

  26. #186
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by OptimisticMonkey View Post
    Nate has a really useful Pivot Tool on Marketplace that does this https://www.unrealengine.com/marketplace/pivot-tool
    UV Mapping Window is Nate question - I am always using the auto UV.
    Use Insert Mesh to replace the current mesh with a cube,cylinder, sphere,etc...
    Yeah, he may have that in another package, but why not have it in a "mesh editing" package like this? Already paying a premium for this one. It just seems like a standard feature for something like this.

    Ill give the insert mesh tool a try. Does that actually replace the mesh? Because what I am really looking for is starting with NO mesh that already exists and then when done editing I can save that mesh as a new mesh in the browser.

  27. #187
    0
    Awesome work!

    Match Quad Texture Map doesn't seem to work right for me yet, though the Face version totally does and is awesome.

    Marketplace items:
    Impromptu Procedural Ladders makes ladders super easy.
    Impromptu Procedural Handrails makes handrails super easy.
    Impromptu Fire Propagation is basically the fire from Far Cry 2.
    InFlux Example Game is a sample game featuring two levels from the UE3 game InFlux and some potentially helpful blueprints.

    Pledge to my Patreon maybe
    Blog | Impromptu Games | twitter |

  28. #188
    0
    Not sure if this exists or planned but I was wondering if you can extrude edges using the scale tool. Right now it just... scales when holding shift. I just wanted to extrude those edges out in the gif, rather they just scaled. Is there another way to do this with out being stuck to extruding on one axis?
    Name:  extrude edge.gif
Views: 63
Size:  412.6 KB

  29. #189
    0
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfen View Post
    Nate,

    So I got it working fine in a normal project. Seems great. I have one question. So far the rest is great and I will likely come back with more feedback in the future. Check out ProBuilder for Unity. They have a lot of pretty awesome features too.

    A couple requests, questions.
    ~Will you add a feature (or did I not find it?) that will let you set the pivot point permanently?
    ~Also, how about a custom UV mapping window?
    ~Rather than using a premade mesh, is it possible to create a feature to make some basic shapes and save that object as a mesh? So I could click "Box" and it makes one, then I edit from there how I want. A plane, sphere, ico, etc?

    Great work though so far. Totally worth the asking price (a steal if you ask me. PB charges I think close to 100 bucks for something very similar for Unity, though it's a bit more advanced and clean looking).
    Hi Wolfen, glad it get it working!

    Regarding your questions:
    Set Pivot: That's something I'm working on, will be in next 1.0.7 update (you can track it here: https://github.com/marynate/mesh-tool/issues/25)
    UV Window: Custom UV editing is the feature I want to have but haven't get time to really start working on. I would like to start working on it after wrapping
    up current planned features (mainly slab transform and blueprint based mesh building). Meanwhile you can try Auto UV (as OptimisticMonkey mentioned or the Texture Mapping tools under Texture Map category)
    New mesh from scratch: Insert Mesh with "Replace Mesh" option checked will basically give you new fresh mesh to work on. But form UX pov, I guess a new "New Mesh" button will make more sense. Will add that.

  30. #190
    0
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfen View Post
    Not sure if this exists or planned but I was wondering if you can extrude edges using the scale tool. Right now it just... scales when holding shift. I just wanted to extrude those edges out in the gif, rather they just scaled. Is there another way to do this with out being stuck to extruding on one axis?
    Name:  extrude edge.gif
Views: 63
Size:  412.6 KB
    There's currently no functionality to extrude edges by using the scale tool implemented. I think it would be a good feature to have in the future, thanks for that.
    There're 2 possible way to archive what you want with existing tools:

    1) by extrude face


    The process will be: 1. Select faces 2. Extrude with "0" amount and "Keep Original Face" on, "Flip Original Face" off. 3. Scale extruded faces 4. Delete extrude faces 5. Select and flip border faces

    2) by extrude edge


    The process will be: 1. Extrude edges by shift drag 2. Scale 3. Flip inverted faces.
    The reason that there'll be always flipped faces when extruding border edges is the faces generated by extruding edges is view based (always face toward viewer). It's a known issue/limitation will be addressed in future update. (https://github.com/marynate/mesh-tool/issues/36)

  31. #191
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Nate View Post
    Hi Wolfen, glad it get it working!

    Regarding your questions:
    Set Pivot: That's something I'm working on, will be in next 1.0.7 update (you can track it here: https://github.com/marynate/mesh-tool/issues/25)
    UV Window: Custom UV editing is the feature I want to have but haven't get time to really start working on. I would like to start working on it after wrapping
    up current planned features (mainly slab transform and blueprint based mesh building). Meanwhile you can try Auto UV (as OptimisticMonkey mentioned or the Texture Mapping tools under Texture Map category)
    New mesh from scratch: Insert Mesh with "Replace Mesh" option checked will basically give you new fresh mesh to work on. But form UX pov, I guess a new "New Mesh" button will make more sense. Will add that.
    Set pivot: Awesome.
    UV Window: Cool. Makes sense. =)
    New mesh from scratch: Yeah, with out using an existing mesh. Just a mesh from nothing that you can add to a folder you want somewhere in content browser when done or right when you start is basically what I am thinking.

    On Extruding edges: Way too much to do haha. I think I will just straight extrude the edges with move tool and bridge edges where needed or collapse / weld verts where I want hehe.

  32. #192
    0
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeWintergreen View Post
    Awesome work!

    Match Quad Texture Map doesn't seem to work right for me yet, though the Face version totally does and is awesome.


    My bad, I should rename it to something like "Copy Quad Texture Map" to make it less confuse with "Match Face Texture Map".

    Basically what "Match Quad Texture Map" do is just copy the source UV from first Quad and paste to next Quad you click on. ( Unlike the face version which will actually project target face into source face's triangle space base on it's baryCentric coordinate)

  33. #193
    0
    Another request here. Sorry if its in plans or I missed it. Didn't see this in the doc. Would it be possible to have a mode that selects a quad (two faces / triangles) that are connected? Selecting co planar with hotkey C is handy but can get tedious and also is not always what you want if you have more than two faces. So if I had a plane of 10x10 subdivisions I may want to just select a quad in the middle (two faces) and would rather be able to do this with one click instead of two clicks.

  34. #194
    0
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    582
    When is this coming to the marketplace?

  35. #195
    0
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfen View Post
    Another request here. Sorry if its in plans or I missed it. Didn't see this in the doc. Would it be possible to have a mode that selects a quad (two faces / triangles) that are connected? Selecting co planar with hotkey C is handy but can get tedious and also is not always what you want if you have more than two faces. So if I had a plane of 10x10 subdivisions I may want to just select a quad in the middle (two faces) and would rather be able to do this with one click instead of two clicks.
    Have you tried the Quad mode (hotkey: 4): Name:  27847664-9c07bc70-6171-11e7-9d92-066949c88fa5.png
Views: 49
Size:  3.1 KB Or you mean select Quad in face mode?

  36. #196
    1
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    Quote Originally Posted by jojo8026 View Post
    When is this coming to the marketplace?
    I got mail from Epic this Monday that it's scheduled to be released on marketplace on July 20th, but since the version been reviewed is quite old, I just sent newest version to Epic. Not sure how long will take for marketplace team to process and stage the new version as I haven't got reply yet.

  37. #197
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Nate View Post
    Have you tried the Quad mode (hotkey: 4): Name:  27847664-9c07bc70-6171-11e7-9d92-066949c88fa5.png
Views: 49
Size:  3.1 KB Or you mean select Quad in face mode?
    Huh... I don't seem to have that option. 4 is object mode for me. Meshtool 1.06

  38. #198
    0
    Oooooohhhhhhhhhh. It's there using the 4 key. My bad. It's just I don't have that quad mode graphic you have on my bar. Killer. Yes... this is what I meant though. =D

  39. #199
    0
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    409
    I forgot to package the Quad icon in 1.0.6, try get 1.0.6.1 on itch which fixed that.

  40. #200
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Nate View Post
    I forgot to package the Quad icon in 1.0.6, try get 1.0.6.1 on itch which fixed that.
    HAHA. That explains that. I will grab it. Thanks Nate. =)

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •