Good Approach for Creating Hair?

I’m new to modeling and I was going to sculpt hair on my protagonist but then I found out about Zbrush’s Fibermesh abilities. I’ve been using zbrush so I was thinking I’d just do that for hair. Would Unreal 4 be compatible with this approach? Is there anything I’d need to keep in mind when exporting the model with this kind of hair? (I’m probably going to take it into Maya for animations/rigging after this)

You can’t use that type of hair yet, currently the only option is to use planes with a hair texture on them, rather than individual hairs. There’s another thread where someone is working on adding support for a hair system and at some point Nvidia Gameworks might be integrated into UE4 and it has a hair system.

Crud. Looks like I’ll have to go back to sculpting the hair. Thanks for letting me know. I hope they integrate some kind of hair system in the future, but I’m sure they’re busy with more game features.

I’m sure there will at some point, but the old techniques should work fine, there’s some really fantastic results out there using planes for hair, doing the DX11 Samaritan demo for UDK Epic did a more complex setup for hair planes.

Is there a way to turn fiber mesh into planes? Or is that too complicated/finicky? I’ve never used planes for hair before.