Unpacking a PAK file?

Hey there! I’m very new to using Unreal Engine but I’m wondering; is there any way to unpack a PAK file? I tried with WinRAR but it isn’t working, and I can’t get UnrealPak to open.

(Hope this is the right place to post this)

the question is, why? pak files are created when you package your project, so you have the source art anyway. unpacking someone else’s pak files is either illegal and or morally and ethically wrong, or both.

Something like:

D:\EpicGames\4.12\Engine\Binaries\Win64\UnrealPak.exe C:\Users\\Desktop\YourPak.pak C:\Users\\Desktop -test

(UnrealPak.exe FileToUnpak FolderToUnpak)

1. Wanna bet it’s in their own documentation somewhere?

2. UnrealPak is built to also encrypt its content by adding a few parameters, one of which being -encrypt.

3. “morally or ethically wrong” Are you ******** me dude? We’re talking about programming, not law school. I dare you to show me a programmer who’s never looked into anyone else’s work, even if only for curiosity.

7 Likes

Code doesn’t get packaged, assets do. Generally speaking the only reason you’d want to unpack a pak file is to get at somebody’s assets.

1 Like

I’m aware that you CAN unpack unencrypted .paks (and encrypted ones if you have the key) my question was why