Game engines price comparison

Hi guys,

I’m new to 3d game engines, and i’m comparing the engines. I want to understand something, i have looked at the Unity game engine’s pricing, and came to the conclusion that Unity is less expensive than Unreal Engine 4. This is my logic, let me know if i’m wrong:

Unity is free until u get an annual revenue of 100k, which is 25k quarterly.
UE4 is free until u get a quarterly revenue of 3k.
So Unity wins here, except that I’m not sure if you would be missing features with Unity with the free version, and if there are paying features in UE4?

Now if u make let’s say 30k quarterly with your game, with UE4 you would pay 500$ per month (because 5% royalties). With Unity you can pay (35$ * [platforms used]) a month with their “Plus” plan.
Then if you make even more money, you would pay even more with UE4.

So am I correct that Unreal engine is more expensive? Or maybe just more expensive depending on the features used? or just more expensive if the game makes lots of money?

Thank you

UE4 has a lot of standard features that Unity doesn’t which require you to buy things from the asset store. For example, their UI system is pretty much useless, and they don’t have anything as good as the UE4 material editor or Blueprints. You also don’t get source code access to Unity without paying more for it. Also, the free version of Unity requires you to use their opening Made with Unity splash screen which is something people like to avoid.
Also, with Unity Free you can only get up to $100k revenue, otherwise you have to buy a higher tier subscription, and also you have to buy subscriptions for each person on your team.

With UE4, if the game is going to make a lot of money, you can negotiate custom licensing terms–for big games, 5% royalty is a significant cost where that might be more than what they’d typically pay for licensing without royalties in the past.