User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 146

Thread: [PLUGIN] RadiantUI SDK - UIs, HUDs, Interactive WebViews - HTML5/Javascript/CSS

  1. #1
    1
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143

    [PLUGIN] RadiantUI SDK - UIs, HUDs, Interactive WebViews - HTML5/Javascript/CSS

    RadiantUI has been upgraded to UE 4.6, and the full source code and example project has been released free-of-charge under the MIT license on GIT hub.

    https://github.com/joeriedel/RadiantUI

    Existing licencees: The store will be taken offline but I will continue to support you through this release.

    Key Features:

    * Render HTML/CSS/JavaScript to any surface/material in the game.
    * No C++ coding required, everything is done through blueprints and components.
    * Automatic Input handling: Walk up to any WebActor and use the mouse and keyboard automatically (Doom3 style interfaces).
    * Supports non-flat surfaces: You can map a WebActor onto any mesh and still interact with it (Curved computer screens etc).
    * Networked gameplay support: Multiple players can interact with the same WebActor and see the same output.

    Thanks for watching!

    Last edited by zoid; 12-04-2014 at 05:16 PM.

  2. #2
    0
    Supporter
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    6
    Very interested in this! Would it be possible for this to support UE4 HTML5 deployment (as in UE4 compiled and packaged for WebGl html5 deployment?) Could be VERY powerful if so!
    Last edited by b14de; 06-23-2014 at 08:06 PM.

  3. #3
    0
    Looks really great! I'll be getting it as soon as I can.

  4. #4
    0
    This looks promising and very reasonably priced.

    Do you have more examples showcasing animated HUD for example? Also, more examples showing buttons, lists, menus, drag and drop, etc (WebViewHUD and HTML). I'd love to see what can be done for standard UI's and what kind of pipeline it would involve for creating them and if it can be a viable replacement for Scaleform.

    Thanks,
    Last edited by Onoa; 06-24-2014 at 01:27 AM.

  5. #5
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by Onoa View Post
    This looks promising and very reasonably priced.

    Do you have more examples showcasing animated HUD for example? Also, more examples showing buttons, lists, menus, drag and drop, etc (WebViewHUD and HTML). I'd love to see what can be done for standard UI's and what kind of pipeline it would involve for creating them and if it can be a viable replacement for Scaleform.

    Thanks,
    All of that can be done, but that's up to you and how you create your UI in HTML and Javascript. Anything you can do will be rendered, there are animation systems like adobe edge animate that bring a flash level experience to HTML 5.

    Check out this video for a bit of an introduction: http://tv.adobe.com/watch/learn-edge-animate/what-is-edge-animate-and-what-can-i-create-with-it/

    So the long and the short of it is, RadiantUI lets you bring all of these systems to bear in making UI's possible in an integrated manner in your game, but it's up to you to create the UI systems in HTML5 and Javascript.

  6. #6
    0
    I'm trying to add a staticmesh webview actor as a component of an existing blueprint that I am using as a player pawn. I'm having a hard time getting that to work. Any suggestions or workarounds?

  7. #7
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by paingate View Post
    I'm trying to add a staticmesh webview actor as a component of an existing blueprint that I am using as a player pawn. I'm having a hard time getting that to work. Any suggestions or workarounds?
    You can only add components to actors, not other actors. What effect are you trying to achieve?

  8. #8
    0
    I'll PM you ...it's a rather long winded description of the desired effect.

  9. #9
    0
    Hey zoid, been poking around at Radiant and it seems like a nice complete package. Just had a small issue, it seems like the enter key is not being passed as input to the webview. I walked through the code, and it seems to my inexperienced eye that everything's firing properly, but the webpage isn't reacting to it. Any ideas?

  10. #10
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by Ineni.Realtime View Post
    Hey zoid, been poking around at Radiant and it seems like a nice complete package. Just had a small issue, it seems like the enter key is not being passed as input to the webview. I walked through the code, and it seems to my inexperienced eye that everything's firing properly, but the webpage isn't reacting to it. Any ideas?
    I just tested this with a webview loading google.com and the ENTER key seems to be working. What website are you loading? Or do you have a more specific repro I can try?

  11. #11
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zoid View Post
    I just tested this with a webview loading google.com and the ENTER key seems to be working. What website are you loading? Or do you have a more specific repro I can try?
    Ok, I did some other tests and it does work, just not on a particular website (A page implementing a thing called Firebase). Seems like something was wrong with the input handling on that particular page, thanks for the help though

    Also, nice work making the Javascript calls so easy to set up, everything (So far) has just worked, very simple to use.

  12. #12
    0
    I was able to get everything working for my issues by bringing it in as a child actor component in the blueprint...works fine now. I noticed another issue though. Everything works fine in PIE (play in editor) but when I go to launch the actual game the radiant actors don't show up. They don't show up in the example scene provided either when using the launcher. Have I not installed it properly?

  13. #13
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by paingate View Post
    I was able to get everything working for my issues by bringing it in as a child actor component in the blueprint...works fine now. I noticed another issue though. Everything works fine in PIE (play in editor) but when I go to launch the actual game the radiant actors don't show up. They don't show up in the example scene provided either when using the launcher. Have I not installed it properly?
    Ok so this is basically a packaged build of the game, and a couple folders have to be copied over, I need to do a proper video for this but the CefRuntime directory and your WebUI folder has to be copied over, I believe (going from memory here) into the same directory as your Binaries and Content folder gets placed. Right now UE4 won't stage any directories for you, but they are adding this general functionality in one of the upcoming releases.

    I'm sorry if that's vague or doesn't work, I'll get a video put together here soon showing where they go so there's no confusion.

  14. #14
    0
    Infiltrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by zoid View Post
    I'm sorry if that's vague or doesn't work, I'll get a video put together here soon showing where they go so there's no confusion.
    How's that video coming along? I just bought RadiantUI today and I'm really excited about sharing my demo builds for feedback, but I can't get the UI working in the build either.

    Any info re where to copy the relevant files from the RadiantUI setup would be appreciated!

    Edit: I just realised you posted that comment earlier today so it's probably a bit "too soon" to be asking for the video But text instructions would be fine!

  15. #15
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Here is a tutorial video covering how to package you game with the RadiantSDK plugin.


  16. #16
    0
    Luminary
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1,700
    Hey Just thought I would say - This looks awesome!

    Further more will there be UMG (Unreal Motion Graphics) support within RadiantSDK?

    Thank you for making an awesome plugin!

    - HeadClot
    Last edited by HeadClot; 07-01-2014 at 04:35 AM.

  17. #17
    0
    Infiltrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    18
    Thanks for the instructions zoid!

    After initially forgetting to copy over the HTML content and getting a 105 error, I managed to get my demo working as per your instructions.

    Here's the final product in all its glory: https://www.dropbox.com/s/lb5u68z1yy3to43/Screenshot%202014-07-01%2021.15.15.png

    Thanks zoid for such an awesome plugin and really clear tutorial videos. Definitely the best of breed at the moment!
    Last edited by Youdaman; 07-01-2014 at 07:18 AM.

  18. #18
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by Youdaman View Post
    Thanks for the instructions zoid!

    After initially forgetting to copy over the HTML content and getting a 105 error, I managed to get my demo working as per your instructions.

    Here's the final product in all its glory: https://www.dropbox.com/s/lb5u68z1yy3to43/Screenshot%202014-07-01%2021.15.15.png

    Thanks zoid for such an awesome plugin and really clear tutorial videos. Definitely the best of breed at the moment!
    Awesome! Let me know if there's anything else I can do.

  19. #19
    0
    Infiltrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by zoid View Post
    Awesome! Let me know if there's anything else I can do.
    I'm currently stuck trying to display a player's sprint/energy (or other variables available in the Character blueprint) on the HUD.

    I've watched your two JS callback videos however my context is incorrect because I'm trying to invoke the call from within the Character blueprint which I know is wrong -- it's just that I'm not sure how to set it up. I can see you're doing the invoking from within BPDoorControl which inherits from BPMonitorScreen which in turn is a Web View.

    I'm trying to implement a sprint bar so if you could explain how to communicate with a web view from the Character (or whether this is the wrong way to do it) that'd be great!

  20. #20
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by Youdaman View Post
    I'm currently stuck trying to display a player's sprint/energy (or other variables available in the Character blueprint) on the HUD.

    I've watched your two JS callback videos however my context is incorrect because I'm trying to invoke the call from within the Character blueprint which I know is wrong -- it's just that I'm not sure how to set it up. I can see you're doing the invoking from within BPDoorControl which inherits from BPMonitorScreen which in turn is a Web View.

    I'm trying to implement a sprint bar so if you could explain how to communicate with a web view from the Character (or whether this is the wrong way to do it) that'd be great!
    I'd add a function to your HUD class to display health that takes your health value, then I'd retrieve the WebView object at whatever HUDElement index you are using (probably 0) and invoke the appropriate calls.

    Inside the Character blueprint you can get the HUD object, cast that to the ARadiantWebViewHUD and call your blueprint function to set the health.

  21. #21
    0
    Infiltrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by zoid View Post
    retrieve the WebView object at whatever HUDElement index you are using (probably 0) and invoke the appropriate calls.
    I can successfully call a function in my Hud class from my Character class (tested it with Print String), however how do I get the actual instance of the health HUD element after I get a list of the hud element classes in order to call the function I've created on it? Apologies if I'm missing something obvious or rudimentary! See https://www.dropbox.com/s/igp6ec8cbe1pa5h/Screenshot%202014-07-02%2017.23.32.png

  22. #22
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by Youdaman View Post
    I can successfully call a function in my Hud class from my Character class (tested it with Print String), however how do I get the actual instance of the health HUD element after I get a list of the hud element classes in order to call the function I've created on it? Apologies if I'm missing something obvious or rudimentary! See https://www.dropbox.com/s/igp6ec8cbe1pa5h/Screenshot%202014-07-02%2017.23.32.png
    You already solved this You got element 0 of your HUDElements, that is your WebHud element, you can call your javascript methods from that class as the context.

  23. #23
    0
    Infiltrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by zoid View Post
    You already solved this You got element 0 of your HUDElements, that is your WebHud element, you can call your javascript methods from that class as the context.
    From the Character I'm calling MyWebHud's UpdateHealthHUD function, but I can't seem to call MyHudHealth's UpdateHealth function because it doesn't show up?

    Is this because it's a class and not the actual instance of the HudElement? In the Defaults of the Hud you only specify which classes are used for the elements.

    I'm wanting to call a function on the actual instance aren't I? Please see these screenshots (I renamed UpdateHealthHUDElement to just UpdateHealthHUD since previous screenshot):

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/q409g0uvdo80vta/Screenshot%202014-07-03%2000.02.15.png
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/wzu0ls41xyflo8j/Screenshot%202014-07-03%2000.04.27.png
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/4q6xgukkext3rdm/Screenshot%202014-07-03%2000.02.38.png

    So yeah it doesn't look like I can choose UpdateHealth which belongs to the HudElement... is there some intermediary step required?

    Apologies if I'm doing something blatantly silly

  24. #24
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by Youdaman View Post
    From the Character I'm calling MyWebHud's UpdateHealthHUD function, but I can't seem to call MyHudHealth's UpdateHealth function because it doesn't show up?

    Is this because it's a class and not the actual instance of the HudElement? In the Defaults of the Hud you only specify which classes are used for the elements.

    I'm wanting to call a function on the actual instance aren't I? Please see these screenshots (I renamed UpdateHealthHUDElement to just UpdateHealthHUD since previous screenshot):

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/q409g0uvdo80vta/Screenshot%202014-07-03%2000.02.15.png
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/wzu0ls41xyflo8j/Screenshot%202014-07-03%2000.04.27.png
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/4q6xgukkext3rdm/Screenshot%202014-07-03%2000.02.38.png

    So yeah it doesn't look like I can choose UpdateHealth which belongs to the HudElement... is there some intermediary step required?

    Apologies if I'm doing something blatantly silly
    No this is my mistake, you are right. I am not exposing the instances of the HUD elements, I spoke too soon. I'll fix this and upload a new beta build as soon as possible.

  25. #25
    0
    Infiltrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by zoid View Post
    No this is my mistake, you are right. I am not exposing the instances of the HUD elements, I spoke too soon. I'll fix this and upload a new beta build as soon as possible.
    No worries. Seeing as there's not Like or Favourite button for your reply I just thought I'd say thanks and leave a smiley

  26. #26
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Ok there is a new build up that fixes this issue. Login back into your account on the radiant store page and go to your downloads again. The download name on the page won't change but download again anyway and you should get Beta 3. You can now get HUDElementInstances from the HUD. I hope that helps!

  27. #27
    0
    Infiltrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by zoid View Post
    Ok there is a new build up that fixes this issue. Login back into your account on the radiant store page and go to your downloads again. The download name on the page won't change but download again anyway and you should get Beta 3. You can now get HUDElementInstances from the HUD. I hope that helps!
    Thanks zoid, that did the trick!

    My next question was going to be how to pass multiple params to the function, but I played around and the following seems to work:

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/ey0a52a0a4zwlhj/Screenshot%202014-07-03%2022.54.57.png

    From my experiments I'm guessing the order of params is determined by their order in the Defaults panel for the JS Function blueprint correct?

  28. #28
    0
    Does this use webkit? We have a HTML5 webapp and I would like to test it (in a demo) before purchasing a license.

  29. #29
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by Youdaman View Post
    Thanks zoid, that did the trick!

    My next question was going to be how to pass multiple params to the function, but I played around and the following seems to work:

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/ey0a52a0a4zwlhj/Screenshot%202014-07-03%2022.54.57.png

    From my experiments I'm guessing the order of params is determined by their order in the Defaults panel for the JS Function blueprint correct?
    Yes that's right. The order of the variables in the blueprint is the order they are passed to Javascript.

  30. #30
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by Wollan View Post
    Does this use webkit? We have a HTML5 webapp and I would like to test it (in a demo) before purchasing a license.
    I'll probably get a demo version built but there isn't one available yet.

  31. #31
    0
    Hey zoid, I assume this is the best place to post?

    Just a quick question, do the regular blueprint draw functions work from a RadiantWebviewHUD? I'm trying to draw a dynamic minimap, but when I moved my blueprint over to a radiant hud it doesn't seem to draw.

  32. #32
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by Ineni.Realtime View Post
    Hey zoid, I assume this is the best place to post?

    Just a quick question, do the regular blueprint draw functions work from a RadiantWebviewHUD? I'm trying to draw a dynamic minimap, but when I moved my blueprint over to a radiant hud it doesn't seem to draw.
    It definitely should draw. I just tested it in the sample project, adding a draw line to the Event Received Draw HUD I can render lines without a problem...

  33. #33
    0
    One day I'll find an actual bug that isn't my fault, I was drawing the texture 0 pixels wide Thanks for the response.

  34. #34
    0
    Is there something glaringly obvious I'm missing?
    Yep, turns out I'm an idiot. Disregard, problem solved!
    Last edited by Crow87; 07-10-2014 at 11:43 AM.

  35. #35
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by Crow87 View Post
    Is there something glaringly obvious I'm missing?
    Yep, turns out I'm an idiot. Disregard, problem solved!
    Oh lord I've forgotten to add an Interaction component to my character before and it does drive you nuts

  36. #36
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zoid View Post
    Oh lord I've forgotten to add an Interaction component to my character before and it does drive you nuts
    ... wait a sec.... how did you know that was the problem?

  37. #37
    0
    I can't seem to find any reliable way to replicate it, but occasionally when I press play with Radiant, UE4 will simply lock up and I have to force quit it. I'm running from Visual Studio and nothing suspect shows up in the log, the main way I've made it happen is just by spamming play/stop, but it seems to happen at random (Generally inconvenient) times. Sorry that I can't give any useful information, but any idea what might be happening?

  38. #38
    0
    Samaritan
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by Ineni.Realtime View Post
    I can't seem to find any reliable way to replicate it, but occasionally when I press play with Radiant, UE4 will simply lock up and I have to force quit it. I'm running from Visual Studio and nothing suspect shows up in the log, the main way I've made it happen is just by spamming play/stop, but it seems to happen at random (Generally inconvenient) times. Sorry that I can't give any useful information, but any idea what might be happening?
    I have seen this before too, and I have someone else who is asking about this. I'm trying to figure out what's going on. You can expect another beta release when I get it fixed.

  39. #39
    0
    Cool, glad you're working on it, it's pretty annoying, though it seems to happen a lot less in packaged builds.

    Also, is there a way to modify the HUDElements in a hud from blueprint? I'd like to load in a new Hud over the top of my current one and remove it at runtime, but it seems like I can't add or remove HUDElement Instances, and changing the HUDElement class does nothing, though that makes sense. Is this functionality available or should I just be showing and hiding elements instead of trying to add and remove them?

  40. #40
    0
    Regarding packaging up for standalone:

    I'm following your video tutorial on how to get this working, but have hit a snag. The tutorial is asking me to 'Add code to project', however that menu item is grayed out for me. Any ideas?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •