[Noob] Help with landscape textures

All the questions I am asking are underlined, (the help I need)

Hello, I am very new to Unreal and have only used Unity very mildly. My knowledge is pretty limited but I am definitely willing to learn about the more advanced techniques. I know I shouldn’t dive straight in, but this is my preference for learning. So if there is something extremely complicated but will still help/improve that you usually wouldn’t try to explain to a beginner, please share.

I am currently trying to make a horror game. I wont bore you with details, only explain what you will need to know if you would like to help.
It is at night
It is going to be raining
It is on a paranormal, isolated island surrounded by ocean.

The island consists of 3 parts. An octagon, and two larger rectangular like shapes

In this thread I am focusing on the octagon. I would not like it to look so man made, with the material on the slopes of the octagon. I think the best way to recreate it is to just simply make a circular terrain and use the erosion brush on the slopes, making it look a bit more realistic. Is there a better way to do this?