Gamedev: The Pipeline

Hi, guys!

My name is Aleksey S. I am a concept artist and an indie game developer from Canada.
After a few years of freelance and developing my skills, I wanted to contribute to the community that has taught me so much, so I’ve started a patreon page and I’m really excited to share what I’ve been working on.

The theme of my first month was medieval fantasy. The character took 10 days from start to finish. Sculpted in Zbrush, retopology and UVs in 3D Coat, textured in substance painter.
I recorded the whole process and spent many sleepless nights narrating it and cutting it down to 6 hours of tutorials, which I am releasing for one dollar. Additional tiers offer assets, personalized feedback and a mentorship. I’m hoping that my wide range of skills and knowledge about gamedev asset production pipeline will be useful to people.

I am currently working on a second content pack, which is going to cover the creation process of a modular environment tileset. So far i have a rough BSP blockout in unreal engine and a few sketches. I will be using zbrush + 3d coat for sculpting and Substance painter for texturing. Here are some sketches:

Let me know what you guys think! If you like my content and wanna see more, please check out the Patreon page and throw a few bucks my way, which will help me focus on putting out more high-quality content.

I’ve been backing Alex since he launched a few weeks ago and already he’s putting out great content. Highly recommend getting on board for programmers and artists alike. Being able to see the steps involved from the coding side gives you a better understanding of the workflow and the value to the artist is pretty self-explanatory. Also it’s $1/mo… so wow much value.

I used the knight asset in my “Homage To Dark Souls” demo - it is an awesome asset!

Very high quality and great detail - here is a video of the asset rigged with Apex cloth in-game:

Highly recommended :slight_smile:

amazing , donated.