Modding & Data Driven Thoughts... how to best accomplish?

Hi there, I have 20 years of AAA game dev experience, but I’m relatively new to UE4, even though I’ve been tinkering with it here and there for the past year or so on personal projects and tutorials. I’ve implemented full Steam Workshop solutions for several non-UE4 games now, so I know exactly how to design and put things together.

One key thing I’ve learned about modding, is that you really need to expose things outside of the engine and pipelines as much as possible. So this couples very tightly with data-driven design as well. That’s why it’s in the modding forums :slight_smile:

So list of key things that I want to be able to solve with UE4:

• Steam API integration
  • Modding textures
  • Modding balance
  • Defining new units / models / behaviors
  • Localization in a centralized manner
  • Without UE4 editor requirement
  • Without developer having to integrate each mod – like Ark appears to be doing. This is what I call a curated approach.