WIP - Real Time Water Waves and Physical Water Surfaces

I’ve been working on creating a realistically accurate fluid surface that involves not only Water-To-Object coupling (buoyancy and other forces) but also Object-To-Water coupling (objects creating dynamic waves on water surface on interaction). Being a physics engineer myself, the nature of waves is very understandable for me. It took a lot of research and a bit of theory-crafting (and much, MUCH more math :smiley: ) but I think this is actually possible to do now! Anyway, I got very excited for achieving some kind of success with this so I couldn’t stop myself from sharing it and seeing what you think!

Before I get into more detail, here’s what I’ve got so far: (excuse the horrible looking water, it’s just a simple water shader for testing purposes)

Not only that, but these waves also have reflection capabilities - they reflect off of the walls! To illustrate :

**This is a physically accurate water model as well! ** Creating a water surface that has buoyancy (floating objects) is relatively easy with the use of Gerstner wave equations (a lot easier if you’ve worked on quantum wave equations for a few years :D). I believe Handkor was the first to implement this and he even has an amazing tutorial for it. This however gives us only roughly ~1/3 times the accuracy as compared to what is actually going on a fluid surface, since there are 3 main different forces (for simulation purposes at least) acting on an object when it is interacting with a fluid surface and we are accounting for only 1 of those. These are; buoyancy, drag and lift forces. This is what creates the motion that makes the tip of a speed boat go up and down in water (it’s mainly the lift force).