"Wavy" chaperone

I’m having an issue that is causing serious seasickness.

If you watch the video below, you can see my problem.
It’s not really obvious, but there is no “wavyness” when in the steam mode, the chaperone is completely fixed relative to the white floor.
But when I change to my “game”, running directly from the editor, you can see that the chaperone is somewhat detached from the floor, kind of floating relative to the floor. If you watch the line in the floor in relation to the chaperone grid, it’s pretty easy to see.
The chaperone is nicely situated right at the floor. So it’s not perspective cause the issue.

Do you have any ideas on how to fix this?

I made another video detailing the problem.
Sorry about the audio.

If you have a fix for this, please let me know.
Or if you have the same problem, please post here so we can maybe get Epics attention and a fix.

I’m seeing the exact same thing in 4.12.0 when I tried it. I’m just starting out developing for the Vive so I’m sticking with 4.11.2 for now. What version do you see it in?

same here :frowning: 4.11.2

Tested with my setting from “Zero” and with Steam VR Template.

Come join us in this fun thread here :slight_smile:

New finding,
When I use this:

https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Platforms/SteamVR/QuickStart/2/

and in step 10. I use 0 Z height /0,0,0/ :

…10. Select the Player Start and position it so that the center of the Player Start is just above the Static Mesh used for the ground. In this example we used a Z height of 1.0 CM for the Player Start.

…everything works fine.

correcting - New finding -Chaperone floating
when I change in Project Setting/Maps&Modes/DefaultModes/
Default GameMode from “VR” to Game Mode
Chaperone is sticky.
Problem is in VR gameMode

Has no effect for me. Also this will mean your floor height is off by a cm in game I believe.

It’s in all versions at present as far as I can tell. happens in 4.11.0, 1 and 2, and I guess 4.12 too!