After building lighting is all different shades

Hey guys!

I have an interesting problem!

I have been working to get modular, and made a little scene thing. I placed all the meshes, and built. This monstrosity was then born:

See how the different meshes have random shades (of grey hehe)?
After I select all of the meshes and translate them slightly, they return to a better state:

In other words, thebuilder is causing this… but idk why. It was working before, but just started doing this. My lightmaps are 64, and changing that doesn’t seem to do anything.

Thanks a lot!

I believe it is happening because the lighting gets baked into each mesh on a different thread, causing slight variations. Unfortunately I cannot provide a full workaround, I have no experience in this, but in this case you could try and use bigger modules to make it less obvious.

[EDIT]

I found this thread about the same issue, check it out:
https://forums.unrealengine.com/showthread.php?46269-Modular-Asset-Lighting-Problem

This is a problem that can’t be fixed… the thing is that there can be slight differences between threads so the objects were the render lighting is different. Modular and building lighting don’t work well together.

But exactly that is the case. Its called “Irradiance caching” which speeds up sample calculations by interpolation with neighboring points. Only if not enough neighbor points that have already been calculated, the sample gets calculated.
It would be kind of difficult to define some sort of sync point during the gathering phase to update all possibly affected samples…

One option of course would be to run the light build on a single core CPU machine :stuck_out_tongue:

Thats what I thought. But they do work well together, it just needs a slightly different approach to the concept of modularity…

If you raise the lightmass lighting quality to like 10, it could reduce the disparity between meshes and once materials are applied, it ‘‘could’’ look okay!