Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do I acquire VR dev kit?

Hey folks!
    I was intrigues by VR for a while, but now I'm pretty sure that VR is solid and it would to stupid not to have a dev kit for testing and etc.
    However how do I get full VR dev kit?
    I tried to get Vive, but it's too late for any application, I tried to get Oculus - it's only helmet, without any joysticks
    Sooo how do I get started?
    SuperGrid: Marketplace Page | Feedback Thread | Demo | Website
    Level design and prototyping for newbies

The "official" start for VR is just around the corner. So, there's no good reason to get a dev kit anymore...

HTC/Valve will anounce the Vive release date within the next few days You might be able to get one before the end of the year. However, the first batch will be very limited...you should preorder one as soon as you can. To get started, watch this...

...and you'll be ready on day one.
    "I'm an engineer. I design illusions and construct the apparatus necessary for performing them."

Comment

Hey Constructive Illusions where did you get that info on the Vive announcement? I'm working on a VR game and would love to switch over to the vive headset and ditch these hydras :P

Comment

Well, we already know for sure that HTC is going to release a limited amount of consumer Vives by the end of the year unless there's a delay for some reason...and there's an HTC event in about 3 days. However, they keep saying that the event has nothing to do with VR :P

One more time - there is nothing Vive related happening on the 20th. It has nothing to do with VR.
        > https://twitter.com/chetfaliszek/sta...71937441288192 ^^

Update: http://vrfocus.com/archives/23602/va...-20th-october/
        Last edited by Constructive Illusions; 10-17-2015, 06:51 PM.
        "I'm an engineer. I design illusions and construct the apparatus necessary for performing them."

Comment