Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SUBMITTED FOR RELEASE] VR Debug Plugin

Introduction

Hi, I am currently working on a plugin for making debugging in VR a bit easier for developers. Being a VR developer myself since more or less 4 years I have come to make a mental list of things that I would love to have in a tool for debugging faster in VR. This is true for all platforms obviously but it's even truer for platforms such as GearVR, Oculus Quest and Oculus Go.

VR Debug Plugin and what it should accomplish

I have finally decided to sit down and really develop a tool that would make it easier to debug your VR apps. I have already come up with a few things I think are important and started to implement them, however, regardless of the functionalities, there are certain requirements that the VR Debug Plugin should stick to.
    • The first and most important one is customisation, I believe for this to be something that can be used by anyone the plugin should be fully customisable.
    • The plugin should be dead easy to set up in your project at any point in time. The latter means no need to add a single blueprint node for it to work.
    • The last requirement should be the ability to easily expand on it and so add new features.

So the plugin should accomplish the goal of letting anyone simply add a component to their VR actor/pawn and then customise its behaviour through the component details panel. No extra steps should be required to get the VR Debug functionalities up and running.

VR Debug Plugin Features

VR Debug Component easy setup

I have spent already a great deal of time making the VR Debug Component easy to customise. Once the component has been added to the relevant VR actor/pawn all its left to do is pointing it to the motion controllers instances (so to use the laser pointers for interactions) and set up the interactions buttons.