Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[VIVE] Tyre Change in VR with the HTC Vive -ASSEMBLY TRAINING-

Hey guys,

I'm a beginner in UE4 and having some issues doing a VR project in university. The task is to do a tyre change in VR with the HTC Vive. I really hope someone of you can help me to get the right direction how to do it. I have built an environment and imported all the necessary models.

This should be the steps:

Pick up the impact wrench and attach it to the hand in the right position (trigger should still be used for 'picking up' the screws):

Release the screws of the wheel with the impact wrench attached to the hand mesh:

Lay down the impact wrench and 'pick up' the wheel using only the hands:

Take a new wheel and let it snap on the right position on the wheel hub and the same thing with the screws to reassemble the whole structure.

Does anyone of you have an idea how to solve my problems? I would be very very thankful because I could finally start my Bachelor thesis when this project is done.

Thanks in advance and greetings from Germany.

Ralf

Hey Ralf,

You have to break it down in simple steps and tackle one at the time. I'll give you some pointers like I would do with my students, but for ethical reasons I can't solve it for you. You have to get through it yourself.
    • To pick up the wrench you can use the same logic of the Pickup Cubes in the standard VR template. As a matter of fact you can duplicate the Pickup Cube BP, edit it to replace the cube mesh with the wrench mesh and it will work. You may have to adjust a bit its position on the hand to make it look good. Using a socket may be the way to go in this case.
    • Next you need to add some logic to detect when the tip of the wrench is close to a bolt on the wheel and enable the wrench to undo that bolt when you press the trigger. Collision components (sphere, box or capsule) are your friends here. Overlap events is what you should work with.