Project Oculus Rift in UNiversity

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Project Oculus Rift in UNiversity

I'm a student that is having a course in Community based innovation and strategy at UCLA, since I decide to run a project on Oculus, we have to demonstrate the power of the community. I decide to enter here and leverage your expertise and opinion.

My idea is concerned with the future destinations of Rift, and about the feasibility of them. Many idea are now out in using Rift as war simulator or as an instrument to practice with surgery or simply to view films or distance learning.

I would like to have from you some Ideas about other kind of use, and from the programmer in this field an estimate of the cost of a similar software.

Thank you for the support!

(for the admin, if I posted in the wrong area I'm really sorry, and if you have some specific request; like: you want attached to my work the name of Unreal to exploit some publicity, feel free to ask)

Is your project about the Rift in particular, or is it about Virtual Reality in general?

IMHO, for "just the Rift", there are limited usage scenarios. Because you usually sit while wearing it, you are (mostly) limited to "stationary environments". E.g. cockpits, vehicles, stuff like that. Motion sickness will still be present even with the best ever HMD. Some people will have no problem with the experience of movement while sitting, others will never be able to get used to it. Have a look at the Oculus Rift developer's guide, it's very interesting. They tell you what to avoid in a 3D environment, e.g. stairs because the could cause nausea.
    Most important usage scenarios will be, IMHO: education, training, tourism, engineering, recreation. Immersion level: "low" to "just good enough".