X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Light shines through my door.

Hi.

I'm very new to game making and UE4.
    I get this effect on my door from the light on the other side of the door and I don't know what I'm doing wrong.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Spacedoor.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	195.6 KB
ID:	1136026

The doors are solid meshes, they have proper UVs and there is an animation on them to open and close.
    I'm using Cinema 4D R15 and exporting with FBX 7.3 to UE 4.2.

My original post about this disappeared some how in the Content Creation section.
    Attached Files

Originally posted by Narater View Post

My original post about this disappeared some how in the Content Creation section.
    Sorry about that, but there was a problem with the database: https://forums.unrealengine.com/show...Incident-Today

Do you get any warnings when you build your light?

Comment

Originally posted by fighter5347 View Post
      Do you get any warnings when you build your light?
      I don't get any warnings when I build my light, the only waring I get is when I import my mesh and get:
      "Warning Warning: No smoothing group information was found in this FBX scene. Please make sure to enable the 'Export Smoothing Groups' option in the FBX Exporter plug-in before exporting the file. Even for tools that don't support smoothing groups, the FBX Exporter will generate appropriate smoothing data at export-time so that correct vertex normals can be inferred while importing."

Comment

You may want to check your normals.

I'm not sure how C4D handles this, since I hate it with a passion - but you should have an option to cull backfacing geometry in the viewport. Pore over your mesh and check for any visible holes, and then flip the normals as and where they appear.

Comment

Originally posted by Crow87 View Post
          You may want to check your normals.