X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Modular pavement problems - another one :(

Hello guys,
    first of all , let me introduce myself
    my name is Luis Diogo Sousa (LDS) , i am an architect from Portugal, and an enthusiast of 3d rendering and animation. I've spent almost all my time as architect working with 3DS and vray, so i have "some" experience in 3d Modeling, texturing and rendering.
    The problem comes with the engine itself, like a lot of people i am having serious trouble with ue4 lightmass and modular pavements. Like a lot people, indirect illumination seems to genrate different shading across each of the modules of the paviment, giving rudimentar look. ( see attachment please ) . I have already followed the basic steps but without any sucess : the lightmap of each asset has been uvw unwraped into a second chanel, there is a significant padding to the borders, and i've set the the 3ds max grid accordingly to my asset LM resolution ( 512 _ 1/510). I've also changed the LM settings to the recommended ones Indirect Lighting Quality =2 , Indirect Lighting Smoothness = 0.6 .
    From what i've understood people at unreal recommend that continuous sufaces should be all combined into a static mesh in order to provide the best lighting results, but for a project like this where you have big flat sufaces what is the best approach ? Shall i continue with the modular approach with nicer shadows, or change to a single pavement mesh , with higher LM res and lower shadow quality ?
    Thank you for your time guys
    Best regards
    Luis Sousa

https://www.dropbox.com/s/htqambszqe...42.42.png?dl=0

For that case, it would be better to make one single mesh for that surface, it doesn't look like it needs a ton of detail in the lightmap so you should be able to get enough shadow detail from a single mesh for that, plus it will improve performance to be a single mesh.