Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is this possible

Hi,

I'm trying to make a mesh not render past another one, here is an example of what i'm trying to avoid

Click image for larger version

Name:	waterplane.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	481.2 KB
ID:	1142078

I was thinking that the only way this could be possible is with some sort of sorting priority, like always having the boat drawn over the water

Is an effect like this possible with UE4?

Here is another example

Having let's say a water plane and a sphere, and not have the plane visible through the sphere

Name:	tritonsub.jpg
Size:	384.0 KB
ID:	1064282

Comment

You could make a depth mask post process. Like making a hidden object the shape of the body and use that to hide the water.
      Last edited by Errvald; 12-18-2014, 07:45 PM.

Comment

Thanks Errvald, very interesting suggestion

I have never done anything like that before so i'll have to do some looking around, let me know if you have interesting links

Comment

You can start from here: https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest...als/index.html

Can't help you more though, never done this before.

EDIT:
          Tom Looman (also posts on this forums) might be able to help you since he's done similar custom depth materials. example:
          http://www.tomlooman.com/the-many-us...h-in-unreal-4/
          Last edited by Errvald; 12-18-2014, 08:11 PM.

Comment

Thanks for your help, really appreciated

Comment

I have managed to get this effect but as you can see all the water gets blocked behind the glass sphere and not just inside of it, also it wouldn't have worked if my water plane wasn't translucent

Why do i always pick the complicated stuff

Name:	Glassbubble.jpg
Size:	256.1 KB
ID:	1064287

Comment

That's ok for the boat though right?

Comment

It should, also the boat is not my main concern as i can easily avoid it by tweaking the buoyancy, i used the penetrating wave scenario as an example