Help with normals for landscape

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with normals for landscape

I am very new to Unreal and am having issues setting up my first landscape. I have tried googling this issue extensively and not found anything that relates - I apologise if this is something simple which has already been covered hundreds of times!

I can apply most textures to my landscape material (baseColour, roughness etc) and verify that they appear as expected in the viewport, but as soon as I add the normal map everything is covered in deep shadows and large chequered squares - much bigger than the individual texture tiles. If I leave the camera stationary the light slowly gets brighter over time, until I change anything or move the camera - then it instantly goes dark and slowly gets brighter again...

I have tried rebuilding the lighting, and switching DXT5 normals on and off in the project settings and nothing is making a difference.

I'm sure the fix won't be too complicated, but I'm going a bit mad trying to work it out on my own!

Click image for larger version

Name:	Landscape_NoTextures.png
Views:	18
Size:	740.3 KB
ID:	1764611

Name:	Landscape_BaseColour.png
Views:	17
Size:	666.5 KB
ID:	1764610

Name:	Landscape_BaseColour_Normal.png
Size:	572.6 KB
ID:	1764612

Name:	Landscape_Dark.png
Size:	636.3 KB
ID:	1764614Click image for larger version

Name:	Landscape_Bright.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	62.6 KB
ID:	1764615
    Attached Files

Originally posted by Riddain View Post
    I am very new to Unreal and am having issues setting up my first landscape. I have tried googling this issue extensively and not found anything that relates - I apologise if this is something simple which has already been covered hundreds of times!