Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[ISSUE]: Light bakeing issues with modular meshes?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[ISSUE]: Light bakeing issues with modular meshes?

I'm fairly new to Unreal so I do not know if this is a common issue.
    I want to begin on a modular office, but wherever there's indirect lighting these ugly seams rear their ugly heads; see picture 1.
    It's only my modular part that this happens to. I've tried to search the internet for similar issues but nothing that help my specific problem.
    I've tried to follow tutorials to see their results and what they did to get them, but they just seem to be able to plug and play.
    The only models this seems to be an issue with are the ones I've created in 3ds max; my teacher told me it could be caused by my not models not being "Watertight" fixing that helped nothing.
    I've tried fiddling with lightmass settings but I'm quite inexperienced so I don't know if the problems there. All models have a lightmap resolution of 2048.
    Any help is wanted and appreciated even moral support.

[Picture #1] The issue the black seams
    [Picture #2] The lightmass settings
    [Picture #3] The scene without my white walls, you can see there are no similar issues.

Hi!

Basically there are a couple of things that causing it:
    - your lightmap resolutions are too low
    - your lightmass settings are "random" /no idea how/where you found those settings! :S
    - your modelling is not good for Unreal because of overlapping surfaces!

Because that was your problem/question:
    - set 0.1 - 0.15 as level scale (indirect lighting)
    - set 0.6 as smoothess and those seams will disappear!
    BUT I advice you to check lighting tutorials and read more documentation about lighting!!

Comment