New Modder, Old Programmer

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Modder, Old Programmer

This is primarily to the devs... I've been a programmer for over 20 years and Ark is the first game to catch my attention from a modding perspective. Kudos on a very well executed alpha so far, on the early modding support, and for a great vision towards a very moddable sandbox survival/building system.

Now, I have a lot of questions as I'd like to get into modding, and I'm a pretty quick learner. I've read a lot of what's available for documentation and tidbits of users figuring stuff out, but clearly there isn't much out there yet.

I have some pretty significant ideas and I've determined the only way to go was the total conversion system, since it's new I'm focusing on just getting my feet wet and the environment setup. To that end, as a new user with no past modding experience with Ark, I am finding there is a little initial hurdle to deal with. As has been noted before, this new switch to using the Epic Launcher was good in terms of not having so many steps to get the kit, but it has also introduced this automatic overwrite and backup of changed files when it updates. This is good, that we won't lose any work but I'm starting to wonder about the correct structure for a total conversion.