Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How can I edit CharacterMovementComponent

I'm new to using c++ in Unreal.
    I'm trying to find out how I can edit the CharacterMovementComponent.cpp file.
    I've managed to adjust it and VS tells me the file is write only, so I overwrite it but adding code to the file does not work when testing the game.
    It's still using the unedited write protected CharacterMovementComponent most likely.

How do I go about creating and using my own custom edited version of CharacterMovementComponent?

Copy CharacterMovementComponent.h and CharacterMovementComponent.cpp to your own project, rename the class (and all references to that class name in your copied files) to something else like "MyCharacterMovementComponent" and then start editing it.

If you want to edit CharacterMovementComponent.cpp directly, you should check out a copy of the UE4 sources from github, but that means you'll have to be using a custom build of UE4 and will therefore need to distribute it to anyone working on your project. The method above is much simpler.
    Last edited by drichardson; 02-04-2019, 03:02 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by drichardson View Post
      Copy CharacterMovementComponent.h and CharacterMovementComponent.cpp to your own project, rename the class (and all references to that class name in your copied files) to something else like "MyCharacterMovementComponent" and then start editing it.

If you want to edit CharacterMovementComponent.cpp directly, you should check out a copy of the UE4 sources from github, but that means you'll have to be using a custom build of UE4 and will therefore need to distribute it to anyone working on your project. The method above is much simpler.
      Ok thanks! The problem is that I already have a character in my game with A LOT of blueprint code in it. How can I swap out the character movement component it uses for the custom one I want to make?