Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why does PlayerController "own" the yaw pitch and roll, but the Character "owns" its location?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Why does PlayerController "own" the yaw pitch and roll, but the Character "owns" its location?

Hi folks,

I'm new to UE4 and am trying to understand some basics concepts around controlling a character pawn. I'm fumbling around trying to implement some character movement logic. I'm going for the basic WASD to move the character forward, back, side to side - like in pretty much every basic first person shooter. I also want the mouse input to rotate the character around.

I've got my own custom PlayerController and Character classes.

Adding the code to move the character around - front, back, sideways - seems to all go in the character class itself. There is a method in there called AddMovementInput that appears to modify the position for me. This also makes me think that the character class "owns" its own location. That makes sense because there could be more than one character class at a time, each at different locations, right?

Adding the code to rotate the character has similar methods for controlling rotation - AddControllerYawInput, AddControllerPitchInput, AddControllerRollInput. Simply looking at the names of the functions suggests that the yaw pitch and roll are "owned" by the player controller. Looking at the docs and comments for the functions further backs that up: "Add input (affecting Yaw) to the Controller's ControlRotation, if it is a local PlayerController." So it would seem, to me, that the yaw pitch and roll are values "owned" by the player controller, right?

As a beginner, this confuses me. I'm just confused by the fact that the location is stored in the character itself but the rotation doesn't seem to be?