Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Converting Blueprints to C++ code

Hello,

I am new to UE, not new to programming, I graduate from a Software Engineering degree in a few weeks. I was wondering if there was any good resource I can use to make the process of converting blueprints to C++ any easier? i.e this type of node is this way, this other type of node you code this way, etc

Any guidance would be greatly received!

What I found for myself is that manual converting is much easier than using the "File -> Developer -> Convert to C++" Function in the Blueprint Window.
    That generated code is very unreadable bloated with extra state stuff...

So in my oppinion it depends on what you want to achieve...
    • If you want to use Blueprints but have better performance --> Use Blueprint Nativization while cooking
    • If you are just curious how it would look like... --> Forget about it... as it is not worth the work in my oppinion
    • If you want to refactor something from Blueprints to C++ --> Do it manually (most of the stuff is exactly named like in the Blueprints)
      • only Datatypes have some additional Prefixes like A (Actor), U (Object or Component), F (Struct or Enum)
      • and sometimes for some methods you need to know where it comes from originally. Because Blueprints hide that sometimes like UGameplayStatics::GetAllActorsOfClass in C++ where in Blueprint you just need to type GetAllActorsOfClass
    But if you want to get back to point 2...
    Just Create two new Unreal Projects.
    • one with the ThirdPerson Character Blueprint Template
    • the other one with the ThirdPerson Character C++ Template
    Then compare

Starter Resources:
    https://forums.unrealengine.com/deve...ing-references

Easy (uncomplete) Example:

C++:
    Code: