Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How am I supposed to learn? Frustration overload...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How am I supposed to learn? Frustration overload...

Hello, so I am new to UE4 and I'm trying to get some materials to learn from but the learning materials in here are beyond frustration for me.

I have gone through the very basic tutorials in UE4, then I tried reading the tutorials in the documentation, as well as watching some of the C++ videos from the live streams.
    First of all, I feel like the written tutorials in the documentation are all over the place. I try to go through them one-by-one, reaching the second tutorial: "Components and Collisions", that tutorial says I should learn "Player Input and Pawns" first, so I jump into that one. Now the "Player Input and Pawns" tutorial says I should learn "Components and Collisions" first... okay. I'm slightly confused but I give it a shot anyway. As I'm progressing through the tutorial. The first couple of lines of code that are supposed to be in MyPawn.cpp give an error and don't compile.

Then I tried following the C++ Tanks vs Zombies livestream but I encountered a similar problem. It gives errors even when I copy the code exactly. I've spent two days on this now and I feel like I'm not learning anything and just get stuck constantly.

I guess the issues are that the tutorials are made for older versions of UE and the methods are new now. How can I find something relevant that actually works? I'd love to learn how to work with UE but I don't know how...

If you can afford it the c++ course on udemy is a good resource to help you get started .
    https://www.udemy.com/unrealcourse/

Also the shooter game is pretty well coded . Most people learn by recreating the systems in this and studying the source code .

Other than that Google and youtube will be your best friend for a long time .

This guy does some really good tutorials