Options for online, real-time multiplayer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Options for online, real-time multiplayer

(Sorry in advance for misusing some of the terms, I'm not a networking expert).

I am trying to get a picture of the available options for doing online real-time multiplayer on both PC and tablets. Here is what I came-up with so far.

1. Have one of the players be the server. This requires that they forward UDP traffic on port 7777, either by asking them to edit their router settings, or using UPnP or similar. This will not work on some exotic network configurations and there is no ultimate solution for NAT problems.

2. Host dedicated server instances. This requires a process running UE for each active game session. Without having made any calculation, I don't see how this can be good in practice considering that each VM can probably run only a few instances simultaneously, and CPU and RAM is still pretty expensive in cloud hosting.

3. Write your own dedicated server, mimicking UE dedicated server but optimized just for your use case.

4. Using custom server code or a 3rd party service, open a connection between two players, and route the UE neworking on it. Like 1), one of the players acts as the host, but they don't have to know it nor do they need to fiddle with NAT. As far as I understand, this is what happens when connected through Steam.

To me, option 4 seems to be the most realistic. It only requires a small amount of server code and server load. It's still not clear to me if this would require the traffic to go through the server once the connection is open, but either way the cost of traffic is probably way below the cost of hosted UE instances.

Now, unordered questions: