Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Accessing Perlin noise values in Blueprint?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Accessing Perlin noise values in Blueprint?

I'd like to use Perlin noise to drive a "handheld camera" effect in a Blueprint. How does one go about accessing Perlin noise from within a Blueprint? I know that there is a Noise node in the Material editor that can generate Perlin and other noise types. But I'm at a loss as to how to bring that over and use it in a Blueprint.

I'm new to Unreal Engine so even small details are appreciated!

For your camera effect you can probably use the material to create a volume/mesh either directly in front of the camera or in a localized area that is basically transparent except for the perlin noise effect. Kind of like a fog but you would tailor it to your needs.

Alternatively, if you want to use the perlin noise for non-visual stuff such as map generation, then I think you might be better off looking up Perlin noise formulas/algorithms online and replicating them in blueprint, which is actually easier than you might think.
    Map Generator 1.0
    Map Generator 2.0
    Map Generator 3.0

Comment

Originally posted by Krxtopher View Post
      I'd like to use Perlin noise to drive a "handheld camera" effect in a Blueprint. How does one go about accessing Perlin noise from within a Blueprint? I know that there is a Noise node in the Material editor that can generate Perlin and other noise types. But I'm at a loss as to how to bring that over and use it in a Blueprint.

I'm new to Unreal Engine so even small details are appreciated!
      I don't really think you need perlin noise. You just need random, just interpolate between current position and the target position to make the movement smoother.

I suggest you have 2 variables in your Blueprint, X & Y. Put a clamp on them, limiting them to say +-30(value can't go outside the clamp range).