UMG widget input data to Blueprint fails

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UMG widget input data to Blueprint fails

First of all I am a beginner in UE4, so my knowledge in UE4 is limited. I tried to find suitable solutions in other posts on the forum, but haven't managed to get it working.

My goal is to figure out some kind of communication between the UMG and Blueprint because I will have a lot of input from UMG's that need to be collected before writing it to a file (as a string). The final product will basically be something like a questionnaire.

So I am trying to get data from the UMG widget to a blueprint to process it further. In this case I have a textbox to enter a number which is then converted into a file name for saving string data.

The UMG:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	UMG_EnterPP.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	203.8 KB
ID:	1154621
    The first part is working correctly, getting the data and putting it in variables. It starts to fail when I try to cast it to the blueprint in both of the options. It either fails to cast or the cast is "empty" in the blueprint.

The Blueprint:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	SaveDataBP.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	151.1 KB
ID:	1154622
    Normally this is how I call for variables from other blueprints without casts, but with UMG it doesn't work.

I also tried to create a function with UMG as input, setting the variable and have PPSavefileName as output.

I might be overlooking something or I am just doing it wrong. So please say so if I do and how I can make something like this to work.

Thanks in advance.

The create from class node needs an execution pin. Right now that widget is never created. Also if you promote the return value from the create from class node to a variable, you can use that variable instead of doing a cast.