Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

2D Side-scrolling Shooter Help

Hi Unreal Community,

I am fairly new to Unreal Engine 4 and I am attempting to create a small project, the idea is to make a blueprint that allows the user to use the arrow keys to aim a projectile weapon while progressing through a 2D level.

I have tried looking at the few examples including the twin stick shooter and 2D platformer packs but so far I am confused as to how I can get the twin stick shooter mechanics to work on the 2D platformer example framework, can anyone help shed some light on how I can do this in blueprint please?

Thank you very much.

After further messing around with the 2D example and First Person Examples I have got half of the basics working, but I am just having a problem with keeping the projectiles spawning the same way that the pawn is facing now.

Here is my Blueprint setup....

Tutorial made Reticle
    Click image for larger version

Name:	1524358_10152662247944163_427291068541041146_o.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	162.5 KB
ID:	1064811

Projectile Spawning
    Click image for larger version

Name:	885533_10152662247849163_4992042975953175097_o.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	65.7 KB
ID:	1064812

Stick and mouse input are borrowed from the First Person example and Jump and Movement Inputs are borrowed from the Side Scroller Example Blueprints.

The resulting problem I now have is in this video below...

I wish for the projectiles to fire on the same axis the pawn is facing similar to older games like Contra and I was wondering if someone could help solve this last little problem.

Comment

Have you tried using the 'Get Forward Vector' method?
      Sr. Engine Programmer @ www.playspace.com - moritzwundke.com
      Remember: be polite and respect other peoples opinions - Join the Unofficial Unreal Discord Channel - Found a bug? Then use the Bug Report Form to get it fixed ^^

Comment

Originally posted by Moss View Post