2 player no server?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

2 player no server?

Hello hello!l Friendly noob here! I have a chessboard type of game. Want to know how to make it 2 player with no server. So 1st player takes control of one side and 2nd player takes other. I know player controller and swithing the number has something to do with it. Just don't know where to set this up. My menu system lets player pick sides but I can still pick other players pawns when playing either side. It would be great to have 1st player pick his side and 2nd automatically get other. If anybody can give me a simple example of something like this to get me started, or a better idea, I would appreciate it. Thank you

2 player no server -> I guess you don't want both player in front of one computer, do you? If so, i can't help on that point.

2 player on 2 different machines -> you need a server anyway, but it could be one of the two clients that acts as a server. That's called a listen-server (search for it).

To handle 2 player and give them a seat -> I'm using 2 "player start" objects (search), one on each side of the board, both rotate towards the board. The player start object has a "player start tag"-field and it's read- and writeable. Set the values to 1 and 2. Although you need a var-int playerNumber in your custom player controller and/or in your custom player pawn blueprint.

- When a player joins you have to call a server function ("remote procedure call") to loop over the player start objects and choose the first one with a value == 1 or == 2. Change the value to something else. Return the number and the player start object to the client.

- You can now use the position and rotation of the player start object to place you player camera or pawn on one side of the board.

- The last step is to set the var "playerNumer" to the returning value of 1 or 2.