Need Help For Making a good looking Melee system

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need Help For Making a good looking Melee system

Hey Guys! I'm trying to make a combat system which would feel a bit more realistic to the player.

Currently I'm using various animations to test it out. For eg: When the player attacks the enemy it reacts with a proper animation. But sometimes these doesn't feel that good. And there is another problem with this kind of approach is that, when the player hits various enemies, they all play the same animation.

I was thinking if I could do a physical kind of simulation to kick in at that exact moment it would look more realistic and every enemy might react a bit different. As I'm pretty new to this kind of thing, so I thought I should ask the experts on what kind of approach is best for making a good combat system.

Please Help, Thank You.

The way I do it is to use overlap events to determine a hit between weapon and enemy... and then, when those overlaps happen, to fire a capsule trace to determine the bone location of the hit.

In addition to playing the reaction animation, I also use a partial ragdoll simulation (using physics blend weights) and apply a force based on the impact normal and bone.

Looks like this:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/50oct5pv5w...tter.webm?dl=0

Now, granted, my game is using a substantially more flexible ragdoll than you probably would, because of how the enemies are designed (they use a lot of axles and ball-sockets, so there's very little expected constraint of movement, and that's by design).

The other thing is, I don't actually use reaction ANIMATIONS, just single-frame poses, and I let the ragdoll and animation blending do most of the heavy lifting. This makes the hits feel more dynamic though obviously less realistic, but I'm sure using less physics blend weight and more detailed animations would probably go a long way toward creating a more realistic reaction.

Comment