Doubt about Targets for Function Calls

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Doubt about Targets for Function Calls

Hey everyone, I'm a student trying to learn Unreal.

I've been trying to understand how to target certain class objects when you're calling a function of theirs in another blueprint. For instance, if you've implemented a function in the game mode event graph (via a blueprint interface), you have to target the game mode when calling that function from another class blueprint.
    What do I do if I've implemented a function in a character blueprint? I've made a BPI for that character and implemented the function, but I'm unable to get a reference to the object when I'm calling that function from another class.

There is many ways to get a reference.
    You have to be more specific about your set up...
    If you're trying to get a reference of the player Character in a SinglePlayer context, just "GetAllActorOfClass"(PlayerClass) and "Get Copy"(0) should be good.
    In a multiplayer context, you'd have to think more
    GitHub Repo - WIP RPG

Comment

Originally posted by silik1 View Post
      There is many ways to get a reference.
      You have to be more specific about your set up...
      If you're trying to get a reference of the player Character in a SinglePlayer context, just "GetAllActorOfClass"(PlayerClass) and "Get Copy"(0) should be good.
      In a multiplayer context, you'd have to think more
      Hey again Silik. Thanks for stopping by to help. I currently have an Enemy class with a Damage function, which will reduce the enemy's HP by whatever input is provided to it.
      I've also got a Spell class, which has to call this function each time it collides with an Enemy. What would you recommend for this?

Comment

You got "EventHit" on the projectile side and "OnHit" in the receiving side, each provide a good bunch of references.
        GitHub Repo - WIP RPG

Comment