Noob Needs help: Spawning Pawns

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Noob Needs help: Spawning Pawns

Hi, Im learning unreal engine 4, I don't have a programming background and am using blueprints to try and get a game made.

The game is based on a board game named Shogi. Its very similar to chess. Its designed to be a 2 player on-line game.

So far I have:
    • A basic map
    • A player camera bluprint (pawn class)
    • A decal on the floor that represents a 9x9 grid
    • A Blueprint (Actor class) which comprises of a 9x9 grid of boxes

Click image for larger version

Name:	grid.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	485.5 KB
ID:	1137651

Being a noob I have inevitably reached a point where I'm struggling to progress. I need some advice please.

What I'm trying to do is create some sort of array (I think this is the way to do it) for each of the clients to determine which units to spawn, where to locate each spawned unit and which direction to orientate the units at the start of the match. I think this data should be held on the dedicated server and replicated for each client upon begin play. then when a unit is moved by a player in a client it should update the coordinates on the server which then informs the clients.

Right now I don't even know how to get one of my unit blueprints to spawn, I was going to use the 9x9 grid of boxes which are listed as A1-I9 as a reference to position the unit after spawning. These units will eventually spawn then make their way to their grid space in some elaborate fashion i.e jet pack. but right now What I want to do is find out where they should be positioned on the grid, spawn them and have them move from the spawn point to the appropriate location, possibly by using the 9x9 grid of boxes as reference i.e. move to X - Y of box A1 then trace down to find the first object hit which should be the floor and use those coordinates to position the unit.