Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Something like a switch statement for static meshes?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Something like a switch statement for static meshes?

Hi all!

Sorry for the noobish question. I'm fairly new to UE4 and have been doing a lot of tutorials. I came across one lately for chopping down trees. However, the way it's setup seems only efficient (to me anyways) for one type of foliage, as more than that would need to use a lot of Branches. I want to be able to interact with lots of different foliage, like different types of trees, rocks, etc. I think it would seem a lot cleaner if something like a switch statement (I'm not sure of another analogy) for static meshes or something exists, or something like a Branch with an "else if" part exists. Otherwise, I'd just have to use a bunch of branches.

Anyone know if these nodes exist or could give some advice here?

Here's the section of the BP i'm talking about.

Click image for larger version

Name:	nlpMzHL.png
Views:	1
Size:	384.5 KB
ID:	1225506

What exactly are you trying to do?

There is no "Switch on Static Mesh" tho. You have to use branches.

Comment

There's also Select.

But it sounds more like you need to use Blueprint Interfaces.

Comment

In this case you could get the name of the instanced static mesh, then do a string op to get the last character (An integer from 1 to 4 in your case) - then feed this integer into a select node (this is basically a switch). If you drag off of your 'class' pin on your spawn actor node you should be able to type 'select' to get a select node configured to select Actor BPs - or you could just create a generic select node then plug it into the class pin and it'll set itself up that way.

Then plug your derived integer into the selector (It starts as a bool I think but it'll change to switch on integer or switch on enum) - then you can add more selections until you get your 4 foliage BPs.

Comment