Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to Blueprints, Keyboard Input Won't Work

Hi

I am just starting to learn Blueprints, and am trying to make a basic blueprint (Supposed to be named SpeakNumbers but I typed it wrong.) which constantly outputs a float, and the float's value increases when a keyboard button is pressed.

Click image for larger version

Name:	KeyboardInput.png
Views:	1
Size:	216.9 KB
ID:	1221928

This is what I have so far but when I test it, it will not take my input. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks.
    Last edited by Ben2514; 06-14-2017, 05:42 PM.

Hook up a Get Player Controller to the Player Controller input of the Enable Input node.
    Last edited by drb1992; 06-14-2017, 08:22 PM.
    Logitech Wheel Plugin

Comment

I tried that but the input still won't work.

Comment

If you are giving Enable Input the correct Player Controller reference, then the only other problem could be another BP is consuming the input of the Any Key event.
        Logitech Wheel Plugin

Comment

I couldn't find any other blue print using the input (I switched it out to check if 1 is pressed)
          Last edited by Ben2514; 06-14-2017, 09:28 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by Ben2514 View Post
            I couldn't find any other blue print using the input (I switched it out to check if 1 is pressed)
            Do a quick test using an actual dedicated PlayerController class (set in Project settings etc)...
            Some events don't fire in all classes. So firing off a Custom Event from PC may be an option.

Comment

Okay I'll try that

Comment

Originally posted by franktech View Post
                Do a quick test using an actual dedicated PlayerController class (set in Project settings etc)...
                Some events don't fire in all classes. So firing off a Custom Event from PC may be an option.