Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Modular Blueprint Components - What would YOU like to see made?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Modular Blueprint Components - What would YOU like to see made?

First off, I'm going to have to say this community is rocking! Like really, there's a feeling of positive vibe whenever I search for Unreal Engine on Google - from frequent updates, to YT videos and even forums.. And I'm rather old in game dev scene, I've been using Unity3D for a long, and just now making a switch.. Also I'm studying computer science and I'm thinking of myself more of a programmer although I've been playing with 2D/3D art a lot..

Now, the way I see it - In UE4 we don't have a scripting language yet (although I expect them to popup some time soon, and they would be a help) so we have blueprints.. It's quite common even for C++ programmers to build their logic in blueprint first and then either port all of it to C++ or debug and only do the most of intensive parts of it in C++.. So blueprints are a must for anyone who's going to have to jump from arch visualization to anything barely game-related..

Now, I'm having this idea which might be hard to pull off, but considering how this community is build of nice people I wouldn't be surprised if this even worked.. So here it goes..

Majority of games (even those that has rather innovating gameplay) can be build by using lots of small pieces of code - like light switching in levels, doors opening, levers turning, picking up a item from the ground, inventory system, score system, you get the idea..