Center RTS Camera on Zoom Out

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Center RTS Camera on Zoom Out

I'm trying to make a Top Down RTS camera i've made center the world(on X,Y not Z) depending on how much it is zoomed out and wondering about the best way to go about it? (Something like supreme commander)

I'm quite new to Blueprint and programming in general so i've been thinking about a few ways to do it with as little programming as possible.

First one was making a collision cube that scales as you zoom out so it always looks the same size to the camera,
    so that when you are zoomed out enough it will hit the map bounds and force the camera to nudge whatever direction it needs to not collide anymore.
    This came with a few problems to me so if put this away for now.

Second thing i tried was making a pyramid shape out of collision boxes. Something like the fridge material below. Drawn by uh.. my friend
    Click image for larger version

Name:	pyramid_.png
Views:	1
Size:	6.8 KB
ID:	1215856
    This wont even collide for now because the camera zoom is setting a Spring arm length and not adding an offset so it's not sweeping. Even if it did it would only get stuck.

Not afraid to try my hands at a programming approach as i think it will yield the best result anyway.
    I just need a little guidance so any help is appreciated.

[MENTION=324271]Ziecore[/MENTION]:

1. Bit of graph:

2. Bit of graph:
    Main channel:
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGC...o9s3YcA/videos

Comment

First of thanks for your reply.

I'm looking at your blueprint now and i think i understand what is going on for the most part and i'm working on trying it out right now.
      However correct me if i'm wrong, but this method would only reset the camera to "origin" whilst im zooming out?
      If so it's not really what i need.
      I need to limit my movement when i am fully zoomed out to 0 and when im fully zoomed out it also needs the be in the center of the map.