Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sharing True First Person Blueprint project with networking (uses UE 4.3 Preview)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sharing True First Person Blueprint project with networking (uses UE 4.3 Preview)

Hey everyone!

I had about a week of time till today to mess around with the awesome Unreal 4 engine and really wanted to do a True First Person networked project. Since this was the first project in Unreal 4 for me, it was quite a learning experience. What I mostly learned, though is that blueprints, even though they are quite powerful, are also relatively limited when it comes to modifying the basic character class.
    Also this is far from being anything fancy as: 1) I'm not a programmer, so everything was made in blueprints, 2) I'm not good a good Blueprint "programmer", so I don't think everything is as optimal as it could be, 3) I used the content from the Third Person and First Person examples, so there's nothing new as far as content is concerned.

Ok so this was made exclusively using blueprints. The list of things I wanted to do was:
    • have networking enabled
    • have some sort of projectile shooting that can affect physics
    • have a true first person view, without the head model getting in the way and not having to remodel the character
    • solve the clipping issue when it comes to the camera in true fps, when the camera is able to look inside the world

So what you shouldn't expect this to have:
    • a reanimated character with a gun in his hands
    • new animations added
    • a perfectly solved camera clipping system(this is very hard to do, because Epic disabled adding additional components that could affect character movement the same way the ROOT Capsule does(ie. stops the character from going through stuff))
    • anything apart from a basic starting point that this blueprint project can give