Multiple Player Controllers - Multiplayer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Multiple Player Controllers - Multiplayer

Hello I'm fairly new to all this and I can't seem to wrap my head around all of it.

What I want to do seems fairly easy in practice but I'm banging my head against the wall.

What I want is a First Person player and a player from a top down view using his mouse pointer to select things in multiplayer.

When I assign the Main player controller here's what happens.

I spawn in game I Possess my Rts player and everything is fine. He has a mouse pointer and he can select things.
    When I spawn with the FPS character - I disabled Show Mouse cursor and click events but the mouse pointer is still active while hidden and its stuck in the viewport.
    This means my first person player can only turn left and right so far because the hidden mouse cursor stops at the end of the viewport.
    I'm at a loss as to why this is. Is it possible to assign a different player controller to my FPS character and if so How do I do this. If not is there a work around? It's been driving me nuts.

Edit: I can't believe this... When I was into the First Person Character I have to click twice and the mouse is no longer stuck to the viewport... I'm at a complete and total loss....
    If someone could give me a brief explanation as to how all this works I would appreciate it.
    If changing values to the Player controllers directly in the Characters blueprint does that effect every character on the server or only the character that changed it from it's blueprint?
    When I start a server is this player controller created for every single character on the server? After hours of searching I can't seem to find a definitive answer.
    Last edited by pwminus; 12-05-2016, 01:53 PM.

Hey,

first of all, grab my Compendium and read through it:

http://cedric.bnslv.de/unreal-engine...dium-released/

That should answer a lot of network questions.