Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is this possible? - Interactive 360 picture.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is this possible? - Interactive 360 picture.

Hi everyone!,

I have been approached by a client with a project idea with a very tight deadline. I have very little experience with UnrealEngine (just a basic handling of the menues as I played around a bit creating levels back in the day) and also have an Oculus DK2 to test out VR.
    The question is: Is it possible to create a UE Scene that displays a 360 picture, and then add "hotspots" to the picture that trigger voiceovers or even text messages on the screen?.

Basically the client wants to Demo their room and add commentary to specific items within the scene, but they do not have the resources for hiring 3D modelers. So they would settle for a static room (picture) where you can just look around (obviously not walk) and trigger some events depending on where you look.

Thanks in advance to anyone that can point me in the right direction, or enlighten me that this is not possible!.

Cheers!,
    Nahuel.

It's possible but you need to find the right template if you don't want to program everything yourself.

I've seen one that allow you to load 360 stereo images (from vray render for example) into ue4 and see it with your vr headset. And you can add any objects in the scene on top of that. https://forums.unrealengine.com/show...t=stereoscopic

I would start with that.

Now you just have to incorporate a cursor that will ''open'' or ',play'' something when you look at a trigger/button/whatever for a couple seconds. This is how it works on samsung gear vr, since you don't have any control input other than your view. You aim with your head at something for +/- 30 seconds to activate it.
    Last edited by heartlessphil; 10-09-2016, 08:50 PM.

Comment

If you don't need the vr then just use a regular sphere, map your image to it and program the cursor trigger! Good luck man.